Bangor City’s stars of 1994-95 voted best North Wales team to win Welsh Premier

Grassroots NW readers have voted the Bangor City champions of 1994-95 as the best North Wales side to win the Welsh Premier League.

In the 28 completed seasons of the national league to date, the north has secured six championships.

Bangor City have been crowned three times, Rhyl twice and Connah’s Quay Nomads once.

We asked whether the City champs of 1993-94, 1994-95 or 2010-11 were the best, or if the Rhyl title-winners of 2003-04 or 2008-09 stood out, or if the latest pride of the north, Connah’s Quay Nomads’ 2019-20 kings, were the mightiest of all.

Bangor City of 1994-95 won 31.1% of the total vote, while Rhyl’s two championship teams finished joint second on 25.2 %.

While City’s 1993-94 champions lifted the title on the last night of the season, the team of 1994-95 won the championship much more comfortably.

The Citizens finished nine points clear of their nearest challengers Afan Lido.

Top marksman of 1993-94, the deadly Frank Mottram, led the goals charge again with 31 in the league, while Llanberis lad Marc Lloyd Williams, known as Jiws, contributed 21 before signing for Stockport County in March.

Other star turns for the Citizens included popular winger, Anglesey ace Steve Humphreys, midfield generals Dave Barnett and ex-Everton title winner Kevin Langley, and the outstanding right-back Kevin Jones from Wrexham.

Frank Mottram

The team was player-managed, as was the case the previous season, by future English Premier League boss Nigel Adkins.

A run of eight straight victories between Boxing Day 1994 and late February put Adkins’ men in a very strong position.

Bangor led the pack by 22 points at one stage, but not even the departure of 21-goal ace Lloyd Williams to Stockport County for £10,000 in March stopped the all-blues’ relentless march to back-to-back League of Wales crowns.

The league was won with two fixtures still remaining following a 4-1 victory over Conwy United.

Bangor were presented with the trophy prior to an away fixture at Connah’s Quay Nomads, which the Citizens won in style 8-0, magic Mottram hitting five to pass 30 league goals.

Final League Record
Played 38 Won 27 Drawn 7 Lost 4 Goals For 96 Goals Against 26 Points 88

Frank Mottram 31
Marc Lloyd Williams 21
Lee Noble 8
Steve Buxton 7
Steve Humphreys 6
Alun Evans 6
Mark Rutter 4
Paul Donnelly 2
Kevin Jones 2
Dave Barnett 2
Jimmy Carberry 2
Kevin Langley 2
Stephen Appleton 1
Arwel Jones 1
Own Goal 1

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: