Mewn ffocws: CPD Penrhyndeudraeth

Penrhyndeudraeth celebrate their 2013-14 Welsh Alliance Division Two title success

No wonder there is so much excitement in the air at CPD Penrhyndeudraeth as the club looks forward to the 2021-22 season.

Not only have Penrhyn recruited former Caernarfon Town and Llandudno boss Iwan Williams as their new manager, the Gwynedd outfit are also building an impressive squad as they prepare for life in the tier 4 North Wales Coast West Premier Division in the revamped Welsh football pyramid.

Having spent the last six competitive seasons in the former tier 3 Welsh Alliance League Division One, the Cockles are looking well-equipped to make a major bid for honours in the campaign ahead.

New boss Williams has already brought back five old favourites to the club in Adam Griffiths, Iwan Thomas, Liam Watson, Tom Hughes and Huw Quaeck, as well as signing exciting prospect Dylan Sweeney, who was at Porthmadog last season but never got to show his talents as the entire 2020-21 term was cancelled for Welsh clubs below tier 1.

New Penrhyndeudraeth manager Iwan Williams

There will be more names on the way as Williams aims to build on his feats at Caernarfon Town, which included the Cymru Alliance League and Cup double, as well as helping shape Bangor 1876 into Gwynedd League champions through his director of football role.

Hanes y clwb/History of the club

Competitive football in Penrhyndeudraeth can be traced back to the 1930s, in the shape of the village’s Cooke’s Explosive Works team, Cooke’s United FC.

They were involved in the Lleyn & District League during the 1937/38 and 1938/39 seasons, then in the Lleyn Peninsula League after the Second World War during 1946/47 and 1947/48.

For the 1948/49 season they joined the Welsh League (North), remaining until 1950/51.

The team then became members of the Cambrian Coast League for the 1951/52 season, where they stayed until the end of 1957/58.

A new club, Penrhyndeudraeth United, was formed and joined the Caernarfon & District League at the start of 1966/67, but folded, after three unsuccessful seasons, at the end of 1968/69.

Clwb Pêl-Droed Penrhyndeudraeth, in its current form, was formed in 1981, joining the Sain Caernarfon & District League.

The club grew from strength to strength, winning the league championship in the 1984/85 and 1985/86 seasons.

The Alves Cup was lifted in 1984/85, Will Evans Cup in 1985/86 and the Moorings Cup in 1984/85 and 1985/86.

Promotion was gained to the Gwynedd League for the 1986/87 season, when the club moved to its current Maes Y Parc ground.

Honours achieved in the following seasons included the Heritage Homes Eryri Shield in 1995/96, President’s Cup 1997/98, as well as Gwynedd League runners-up in 1998/99.

Despite an opportunity of promotion to the Welsh Alliance at that time, the team refused and 2000-01 saw the club go an entire season without winning a league match. Relegation followed to the Caernarfon & District League.

Eight unproductive seasons ensued before in 2009-10 Penrhyn were promoted from Caernarfon & District Division Two to Division One.

The team were next runners-up in Division One and winners of the Kon-X Wales Cup and Moorings Cup in 2010/11 under the management of Gareth Piercy and Richard Davies.

During the next pre-season, Piercy resigned, with Davies taking over and adding Bleddyn Williams as his assistant.

The treble winners of 2011-12

Promotion was gained to the Gwynedd League and in 2011/12 the team achieved a treble – League Championship and winners of both the Gwynedd Safeflue Shield and Bob Owen Memorial Shield.

The 2012/13 season, the club’s first ever at Welsh Alliance level, was again a success – finishing third in Division Two and winning the divisional Take Stock Van Hire Cup.

The next campaign, 2013-14, was the club’s best yet as they won the Welsh Alliance Division Two title by 14 points.

In 2014/15, Penrhyn finished fifth in Division One, as well as reaching the final of the FAW Trophy.

The most prestigious day ever in the club’s history saw them lose gallantly 4-2 to Holywell Town in the national competition final at Llandudno.

Joyous celebrations after Penrhyn win the 2015-16 Mawddach Challenge Cup

The 2015/16 campaign delivered more joy as Penrhyndeudraeth celebrated the most significant triumph in their existence, whipping Glantraeth 4-1 to secure the Mawddach Challenge Cup at Bangor.

Goals were shared by three of the club’s greatest-ever players – two for Sion Bradley, now a Cymru Premier star at Caernarfon Town, Meilir Williams, Welsh Alliance top-marksman in 2018-19 and the legendary Paul Roberts, past WPL goal machine for Bangor City and Porthmadog, as well as an ex-Wrexham and Wales Under-21 front man.

Over the most recent seasons, Penrhyn have finished sixth, eighth (twice) and ninth in Welsh Alliance Division One.

The last 10 years have undoubtedly been the most successful overall in the club’s history.

They will no doubt be targeting more silverware for the cabinet under new manager Williams.


Cynghrair Caernarfon a’r Cylch / Caernarfon & District League
Pencampwyr / Champions: 1984-85, 1985-86

Cwpan Alves / Alves Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 1984-85

Cwpan Will Evans / Will Evans Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 1985-86

Cwpan Moorings / Moorings Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 1984-85, 1985-86, 2010-11

Cwpan Meirionydd / Meirionydd Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 1994

Tarian Heritage Homes (Wales) Ltd Eryri Shield
Enillwyr / Winners: 1995-96

Cwpan y Llywydd Cynghrair Gwynedd League Presidents Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 1997-98

Cwpan Kon-X Cymru / Kon-X Wales Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 2010-11

Cynghrair Pêl-Droed Gwynedd Football League
Pencampwyr / Champions: 2011-12
Tarian Gwynedd Safeflue Shield
Enillwyr / Winners: 2011-12
Tarian Goffa Bob Owen Memorial Shield
Enillwyr / Winners: 2011-12

Cwpan Take Stock Van Hire Cup (Welsh Alliance Division Two Cup)
Enillwyr / Winners: 2012-13

Cynghrair Pêl-Droed Undebol Lock Stock y Gogledd / Lock Stock Welsh Alliance Football League
Pencampwyr / Champions: 2013-14 (Adran 2 / Division 2)

Cwpan Her Mawddach / Mawddach Challenge Cup
Enillwyr / Winners: 2015-16

Tlws CBDC / FAW Trophy
Rownd Derfynol / Finalists: 2014-15

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: