When Kevin Lloyd was Bangor City’s hero in cup upset against Rhyl

Kevin Lloyd in Llanrug colours after winning the 2013-14 FAW Trophy. Sadly we do not have a photograph of him in Bangor City kit

Today is Kevin Lloyd Day on Grassroots North Wales. 😁

Earlier on we focused on perhaps Kevin’s perfect day, when his two goals helped Llanrug United achieve the greatest feat in their history by lifting the FAW Trophy in 2013-14.

However, I remember another occasion when Kevin was big news.

In 2008/09, Rhyl were unstoppable in winning the Welsh Premier League, yet Bangor City knocked them out of both the Welsh Cup and League Cup.

Everyone remembers the Welsh Cup victory at Farrar Road on penalties, but not so many easily recall the League Cup win for the Citizens on the same ground inspired by substitute Lloyd.

Here is a look back at what was a thrilling cup clash between these two old foes. I was at the game and what an atmosphere there was.

Report as usual by Mike Smith of the Citizens Choice website who we once more thank from the bottom of our hearts.

Bangor City 3 (Kevin Lloyd 90+4 & 110, Sion Edwards 104)
Rhyl 1 (Greg Strong 35)
Loosemores League Cup – Oct 28, 2008
(after extra time, 90 mins 1-1)

With some 94 minutes played of this League Cup quarter-final City looked down and out, but a last gasp equaliser from substitute Kevin Lloyd changed all that – and led to an uplifting 3-1 win over bitter rivals Rhyl.

In the very first minute Citizens midfielder Kieran Killackey hit the post with the diving Lee Kendall well beaten.

On 10 minutes Dave Swanick sent Chris Sharp clear on goal but he fired wide.

Sion Edwards, who was a thorn in the visitors’ side throughout, also shot over the bar.

Rhyl settled and with half an hour gone ex-City man Carl Owen forced a good save out of Paul Smith, then Danny Williams headed over from the corner.

The opening – and what looked like decisive – goal of the game came from a 35th minute corner.

Gareth Owen crossed, local lad Carl Owen knocked the ball back across goal and former Bolton Wanderers defender Greg Strong found the net with City fans claiming the use of a hand. Nonetheless the goal stood and Rhyl had the lead.

Half-time: Bangor 0 Rhyl 1

At the interval the injured Chris Sharp was replaced by Kevin Lloyd.

There was little to cheer the home fans in terms of clear efforts in the second half.

In a 10-minute spell, referee Lee Evans booked four Bangor players and three from the Lilywhites.

City might have slipped further behind as Danny Williams and Strong both went close.
Five minutes from time both sides made a change – for Bangor, John Corrigan came on for a tired Killackey, and Rhyl introduced James Kelly for Josh Johnson.

Some supporters had started to drift away, when with four minutes of added time already played, home prayers were answered.

Les Davies crossed low from the right, Lloyd challenged with Kendall and the ball dropped for the former Llangefni striker to score his first Bangor goal.

Those leaving turned around and referee Evans signalled for full-time – another half-hour needed.

Full-time: 1-1

Just before the end of the first period City had the lead. Marc Limbert’s free kick picked out Sion Edwards and his clean drive beat Kendall into the net.

Former Wrexham midfielder Danny Williams was then sent off for a clash with Limbert, leaving the Lilywhites a goal and man down.

In the second period – on 110 minutes – Bangor grabbed a 3-1 advantage.

Lloyd ran at goal, executed a sublime exchange of passes with Edwards and crashed the return ball into the roof of the net.

As the Bangor fans celebrated those in black and white began their journey home.

Kevin Lloyd has had some great games in his career for a number of clubs, but this was surely his finest hour in a Bangor City shirt.

Bangor City: Paul Smith, Dave Swanick, Peter Hoy, Michael Johnston, James Brewerton (Martin Beattie 112), Kieran Killackey (John Corrigan 84), Marc Limbert, Mike Walsh, Les Davies, Chris Sharp (Kevin Lloyd 46), Sion Edwards.

Rhyl: Lee Kendall, Mark Connolly, Greg Stones, George Horan, Danny Williams, Greg Strong, Gareth Owen, Josh Johnson (Jimmy Kelly 84), Neil Roberts, Carl Owen (Jamie Reed 66), Craig Jones.

Attendance: 475.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: