Craig Harrison’s New Saints remain Kings of the Wins

Craig Harrison still holds a managerial world record. Picture: Nik Mesney, NCM Media

The New Saints’ men’s football world record of 27 straight wins is safe following Manchester City’s 2-0 home loss to Manchester United today.

Pep Guardiola’s side went into the derby at the Ethiad on a run of 21 consecutive victories.

But goals from Bruno Fernandes (pen) and Luke Shaw ensured Craig Harrison’s long-time TNS invincibles of 2016-17 remain Kings of the Wins.

TNS won every game between August 14 and December 30, 2016. A 2-0 win at Cefn Druids meant the now record 13-time Welsh Premier League champions registered a 27th successive victory in all competitions to eclipse the 26-game winning streak set by Johan Cruyff’s magnificent Ajax side of 1972.

The run ended for Harrison’s heroes when they were held 3-3 by Newtown in their first match of 2017.

Top 7 best winning streaks in men’s world football history

(* = ‘Big Five’ league)
The New Saints (Wales – 2016-17) 27
Ajax (Holland – 1971-72) 26
Ajax (Holland – 1995) 25
Cortiba (Brazil – 2011) 24
Bayern Munich * (Germany – 2020) 23
Real Madrid * (Spain – 2014-15) 22
Manchester City * (England – 2020-21) 21

Managers with the longest winning runs in men’s football history

21 Pep Guardiola (Man City)
22 Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid)
23 Hansi Flick (Bayern Munich)
24 Marcelo Oliveira (Coritiba)
25 Louis van Gaal (Ajax)
26 Stefan Kovacs (Ajax)
27 Craig Harrison (TNS)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: