Good luck Chris Byast in his new role as Amlwch Town manager

New Amlwch Town boss Chris Byast. Picture: Gethin Jones, Amlwch Town

Amlwch Town have announced that Chris Byast has accepted the role of club manager.

Byast took on the role of interim manager back in August, following the resignation of Ryan McKean.

The 28-year-old Byast has spent much of his playing career at Amlwch, netting 20 goals for the club back in 2014-15, but has also worn the colours of Cemaes Bay and CPD Llannerchymedd.

The new manager at Lon Bach has wasted little time in putting his own stamp on the Amlwch squad; bringing in a number of fresh faces and adding youth players to start moulding a new team.

Before Coronavirus decimated the 2020-21 campaign, Amlwch had shown some great pre-season performances – with three wins, one draw and a loss.

Chris said: “I hadn’t really thought about management before – but I approached the committee offering to help after Ryan (McKean) stepped down and was given the interim manager role.

“I’ve tried to bring my own ideas into training sessions and things were going really well before the season ended.”

He added: “We’ve managed to recruit some good new players and I’m looking forward to working more with the lads when we get back to training and playing again.

“I’m pleased that the committee have shown their faith in me and offered me the manager’s role. I’m still new to this management stuff so it’s going to be a challenge, but one I’m really looking forward to.”

Amlwch Town were placed in the tier 4 North Wales Coast West Premier Division for the 2020-21 season, which never started due to Covid-19.

Amlwch Town FC – Club Honours

Anglesey League champions (9): 1946-47, 1947-48, 1948-49, 1949-50, 1950-51, 1970-71, 1971-72, 1996-97, 2005-06
Gwynedd League champions (1): 1997-98
Welsh Alliance League champions (1): 2001-02
Dargie Cup winners (4): 1967-68, 1968-69, 1989-90, 2004-05
Megan Cup winners (4): 1948-49, 1966-67, 1967-68, 1996-97
Elias Cup winners (3): 1964-65, 1999-2000, 2005-06
NWCFA Junior Cup winners (3): 1949-50, 1955-56, 1996-97
Cwpan Gwynedd winners (1): 1997-98
Eryri Shield winners (1): 1997-98
Alves Cup winners (2): 1998-99, 2001-02
JW Lees Shield winners (1): 1985-86
AEEU Cup winners (1): 2004-05
Trophies won: 31

Women’s team

North Wales Women Football League Division Two champions 2019-20

North Wales Women’s Football League Supplementary Cup winners 2018-19

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: