Ryan Turner remains Prestatyn Town manager – all players are staying

Ryan Turner remains Prestatyn Town manager. Picture: PTFC

Ryan Turner will remain manager of Prestatyn Town following the departure of director of football John Lawless last week, the club has confirmed.

And chairman Jamie Welsh has also revealed the players brought in during Lawless’ short stay will remain at Bastion Gardens.

Mr Welsh told Grassroots North Wales the club cannot comment on Lawless’ reason for leaving Town last Thursday as it was down to a “non-football related matter”, but did confirm the former Colwyn Bay and The New Saints player had been dismissed.

However, Mr Welsh is keen to stress that when he left Lawless was not a replacement manager for Neil Gibson, who left the club in October, with that role having been taken on by Turner.

“Ryan Turner was appointed as Neil Gibson’s replacement due to John (Lawless) not having the correct badges,” said Mr Welsh.

“John took up a director of football role at the club but has now been dismissed due to a non-football related incident that the club can’t comment on.

“The club is in no rush to appoint another director of football but is concentrating on getting the players signed ready for the start of the season.”

Ryan Turner has been at Prestatyn Town since June 2018, firstly taking over as joint first-team manager with Leon Field.

The pair arrived at Bastion Gardens after a spell in charge of Kinmel Bay.

Although the managerial set-up has fluctuated at Prestatyn over the past two-and-a-half years, Turner has been a constant.

His work with both the Academy and senior sides has been outstanding and his loyalty to the club is without question.

Prestatyn’s hopes of beginning their defence of their Cymru North title this month received a setback when the FAW postponed the already much-delayed start of the 2020-21 campaign last weekend following the Welsh Government’s announcement of a tier 4 lockdown for an indefinite period.

Prestatyn Town 2020-21 signings

Jack Dunn

Lee Beattie
Sam Barnes
Steve Lewis

Johnny Hunt
Dale Jennings
Carter Costello
River Humphreys
Joseph Halligan
Andy Marshall
Josh Brizell
Adam Buxton
Ashley Dale
Jacob Lloyd Williams
Josh Holden
Jack Hont
Elliot Owen
Samuel Duffy

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: