Breaking: North East Wales FA propose new format for its 4th and 5th tier divisions this season

Sychdyn (yellow and black) are in the tier 5 North East Wales League Championship. Picture: Dylan Owen

The North East Wales FA are to seek FAW approval to launch an alternative-style competition in the new year.

With tiers 4 and 5 men’s football yet to start their respective seasons, and the 2020-21 campaign already into December, the chance of completing a full programme of fixtures is next to none.

The tier 3 leagues, set to kick off in late January, have already announced a reduced schedule with teams playing each other just once in what will amount to 15 matches apiece.

The NEWFA, which coordinates the tier 4 Premier Division, tier 5 Championship, plus a reserve and veterans league, have come up with a different proposal.

The plan is to introduce a Nations League style format to accommodate groups of four facing one another on a home and away basis.

Every team which competes will remain involved, regardless of their final group standing. as a knockout competition would follow based on their pool position.

With the 30-person rule restriction at grounds remaining for the foreseeable future, teams would be limited to 13 players per match.

“It would not be an official competition, and would be played on the same basis as friendlies are now,” said NEWFA general secretary Dave Fawkes.

“But it would ensure every team got to play at least 10 games.

“Whether we would leave tiers 4 and 5 stand alone, or amalgamate the two, is something still to be considered.”

There would be no promotion or relegation from the respective tiers.

The proposal will be sent to the FAW and if accepted could see commencement at the end of January.

Meanwhile, the NEWFA-administered Flintshire and Wrexham Junior Leagues will start competitive league matches on Saturday, December 5.

The NEWFA junior cup competitions began last weekend.


North East Wales League Premier Division (15 teams)

Acton FC
Brymbo Victoria
Castell Alun
Cefn Mawr Rangers
Chirk Town
Coedpoeth United
FC Queen’s Park
Halkyn & Flint Mountain
Hawarden Rangers
Lex XI
Llangollen Town
Mynydd Isa Spartans
New Brighton Villa
Overton Recreational


North East Wales League Championship (11 teams)

AFC Bagillt
Borras Park Albion
CPD Bellevue
CPD Caerwys
CPD Sychdyn
Connah’s Quay Town
Deeside FC
Johnstown YFC
Penyffordd Lions
Railway Rovers
Ruabon Rovers

North East Wales Reserve League (10 teams)

CPD Caerwys
Castell Alun
Cefn Mawr Rangers
Coedpoeth United
FC Queen’s Park
Hawarden Rangers
Llangollen Town
Llay Welfare Colts
Mynydd Isa Spartans
Ruthin Town Colts

North East Wales Veterans League

Premier Division (8 teams)
Buckley Town Vets
Caerwys FC Vets
Connah’s Quay Nomads Vets
FC Nomads Vets
Holt & Farndon Vets
Lex XI Vets
Ruthin Town Vets
Shotton Steel Vets

Championship (9 teams)
Brickfield Rangers Vets
Denbigh Wanderers Vets
FC Queen’s Park Vets
Hawarden Rangers Vets
Mynydd Isa Spartans Vets
Penmaenmawr Phoenix Vets
Point of Ayr Vets
Rhuddlan Town Vets
Rhyl FC Vets

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: