Flashback – 5 years ago: Famous cup success for Denbigh Town

Denbigh Town 2 (Tony Davies pen 86, Ant Dunleavey 95)
Airbus UK Broughton 1 (Andy Jones 32)
Word Cup quarter-final – October 20, 2015 (after extra time)

Five years ago this week Denbigh Town celebrated one of their greatest ever nights as they knocked Welsh Premier club Airbus out of the Word Cup to advance to the semi-finals.

With kick-off delayed due to an accident on the M56 which the majority of Airbus players and management was caught up in, the game started half an hour late.

The opening period saw Airbus have majority of play but the first effort on goal saw Wingmakers keeper Keighan Jones produce a fantastic save from Ant Dunleavey.

The opening goal arrived on 32 minutes when Andy Jones headed home to Airbus one-up.

Denbigh then went on the attack and a handball in the Airbus box wasn’t spotted – a lucky escape for the visitors.

Half-time: Denbigh Town 0 Airbus 1

Into the second half and Town continued to frustrate Airbus and keep the score at 1-0.

On 70 minutes Mark Roberts was withdrawn for Sam Jones whilst Carl Lamb and Warren Duckett made way for debutant Sam Tate and Mike Cronshaw.

Airbus then threw on Matty McGinn, Chris Budrys and Wayne Reilly as they tried to see the game out.

Denbigh were on top now with the subs making a huge impact.

Dunleavey had a great chance but screwed his shot wide, then another penalty claim was turned down.

On 86 minutes Sam Jones shot and Jay Owen handled on the line which led to a red card. From the resulting spot kick Tony Davies smashed the ball home to send the tie into extra time.

Five minutes into the first period, Dunleavey found space and fired home a superb strike to give Town a famous victory and seal a semi-final clash with Connah’s Quay Nomads.

A superb effort from everyone but special credit to Denbigh keeper Elliot Power, who was outstanding, along with the three youngsters Sam Lewis, Sam Tate and Sam Jones.


1 Elliot Power 2 Ant Mee 3 Matty Hughes 4 Dave McIntyre 5 Tony Davies 6 Ant Williams 7 Warren Duckett 8 Sam Lewis 9 Carl Lamb 10 Mark Roberts 11 Ant Dunleavey. Subs: 12 Sam Jones 14 Sam Tate 15 Mike Cronshaw

1 Keighan Jones 2 Lee Owens 3 Bailey Jackson 4 Mike Pearson 5 Liam Smith 6 Ashley Williams 7 Jay Owen 8 Ryan Fraughan 9 James Murray 10 Tony Gray 11 Andy Jones. Subs: 12 Chris Budrys 14 Wayne Reilly 15 Matty McGinn.

Huge thanks to Denbigh Town’s website and writer Steve Reds for the match information

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: