North Wales football tiers 4 and 5 – what happens next? Let’s explore….

Amlwch Town and Holyhead Town are among those clubs awaiting confirmation on what level they will play at next season. Picture: Gethin Jones (Amlwch Town FC)

We now know the make-up of the top three tiers in the Welsh football pyramid for next season.

That now leaves tiers 4 and 5 to be established.

At present we are led to believe those tiers will look like this……

North East Wales

Tier 4 – North East Wales League Premier Division

Tier 5 – North East Wales League Championship

North Wales Coast

Tier 4 – North Wales Coast West Premier Division (no more than 16 teams – could include ex-Welsh Alliance League clubs and representatives of former Gwynedd and Anglesey leagues)

Tier 4 – North Wales Coast East Premier Division (no more than 16 clubs – could include ex-Welsh Alliance teams and former Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Premier or Division One teams)

Tier 5 – North Wales Coast West Division One (no more than 16 clubs – could include ex-Welsh Alliance League clubs and representatives of former Gwynedd and Anglesey leagues)

Tier 5 – North Wales Coast East Division One (no more than 16 clubs – could include ex-Welsh Alliance teams and former Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Premier or Division One teams).

So, which clubs are now awaiting confirmation on where they will play this season?

Clubs still looking to be housed (no reserve sides, first teams only)

North Wales Coast West (32 places available)

Probable clubs

Aberffraw, Amlwch Town, Arriva Bangor, Bangor 1876, Barmouth and Dyffryn, Bethesda Athletic, Bodedern Athletic, Bodorgan Juniors, Bontnewydd, Bro Goronwy, Caergybi, CPD Cefni, Cemaes Bay, CPD Y Fali, Gaerwen, Glantraeth, , Gwalchmai, Holyhead Town, Llanberis, Llandegfan, Llanfairpwll, Llangoed, Llannerchymedd, Llanrug United, Llanystumdwy, Menai Bridge Tigers, Mountain Rangers, Mynydd Llandegai, Nefyn United, Penrhyndeudraeth, Pentraeth, Pwllheli, Talysarn Celts, Trearddur Bay Bulls, Waunfawr.
Total teams = 35

North Wales Coast East (32 places available)

Probable clubs

Abergele, Betws-y-Coed, Cerrigydrudion, CPD Bro Cernyw, CPD Caer Clwyd, CPD Llansannan, CPD Y Glannau, CPD Y Rhyl 1879, Denbigh Development, Glan Conwy, Henllan, Kinmel Bay, Llandudno Amateurs, Llandudno Athletic, Llandudno Junction, Llandyrnog United, Llanelwy Athletic, Llanfairfechan Town, Llannefydd, Llysfaen, Machno United, Meliden, Mochdre Sports, NFA, Penmaenmawr Phoenix, Penrhyn Bay Dragons, Prestatyn Sports, Rhos United, Rhuddlan Town, Rhyl All Stars.
Total teams = 30

With three excess clubs in North Wales Coast West and two short in North Wales Coast East, it seems the logical step to shift two more from the West to the East. That would give West 33 and East 32, so there’s a hurdle to tackle to get equal numbers. This may already have been solved behind closed doors.

We have seen from the tier 3 revelations yesterday, the FAW geography game can produce some strange bedfellows, so let’s see what happens.

NOTE (disclaimer)

The set-ups above are based on what we were told a few weeks back by area associations. It could be that some aspects have been changed.

If so, Grassroots North Wales does not know about them, but that is nothing too unusual as regular information flow can be erratic.

Also it is evident there are clubs being formed that have not announced themselves widely yet, so it is not always possible to know about them all.

So apologies in advance if there are any errors but this is as accurate as we can get it at this stage.

If necessary, you can send us to the tower later, I might end up going there voluntarily anyway. 😂

North East Wales League (29 teams)

Probable clubs

Acton, Bellevue, Borras Park Albion, Brymbo Victoria, Caerwys, Castell Alun Colts, Cefn Mawr Rangers, Chirk Town, Coedpoeth, CPD Sychdyn, Halkyn & Flint Mountain, Greenfield (?), Hawarden Rangers, Johnstown YFC, Lex XI, Llangollen Town, Mold Town United, Mynydd Isa Spartans, New Brighton Villa, Overton, Penyffordd Lions, Plas Madoc, Queen’s Park.

New clubs: AFC Bagillt, Connah’s Quay Town, Deeside FC, Llanfarthin VFC, Railway (Rhosddu) Rovers, Ruabon Rovers.

We can find 29 teams seeking a home in the new-look North East Wales League – three from last season’s WNL Premier, 10 from Division One and nine from the now former North East Wales League (tier 5 version, now dissolved). Also six new clubs we know of have applied (listed above).

Now….. let’s recap on the North Wales clubs (and some Mid Wales ones) who are fixed up and ready to roll!

Clubs which have been housed

Tier 3 North 2020-21

North East (16 teams)
Berriew, Bow Street, Caersws, Carno, Cefn Albion, Chirk AAA, Corwen, Four Crosses, Kerry, Llanfair United, Machynlleth, Montgomery Town, Penparcau, Penycae, Rhos Aelwyd, Welshpool Town.

North West (16 teams)
Blaenau Amateurs, Brickfield Rangers, Brymbo, Denbigh Town, Llandudno Albion, Llanrwst United, Llanuwchllyn, Llay Welfare, Mold Alexandra, Nantlle Vale, Porthmadog, Rhostyllen, Rhydymwyn, Saltney Town, St Asaph City, Y Felinheli.

Tier 2

Cymru North 2020-21 (16 teams)
Airbus UK Broughton, Bangor City, Buckley Town, Colwyn Bay, Conwy Borough, Gresford Athletic, Guilsfield, Holyhead Hotspur, Holywell Town, Llanidloes Town, Llandudno, Llangefni Town, Llanrhaeadr, Penrhyncoch, Prestatyn Town, Ruthin Town.

Tier 1

Cymru Premier 2020-21 (12 teams)
Aberystwyth Town, Bala Town, Barry Town United, Caernarfon Town, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cefn Druids, Connah’s Quay Nomads, Flint Town United, Haverfordwest County, Newtown, Pen-y-Bont, The New Saints.

Reserve Teams

At present we are told there will be a Reserve League for Tiers 1-3 and a North East Wales Reserve League.
We are unaware of any plans for reserve league provision in the Coast set-up as yet.
We will report more on this when we know more.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: