Reasons to be Cheerful…Tier 3 (well for some)

Denbigh Town (dark blue) and Blaenau Amateurs will both compete in North West next season

The much-anticipated announcement of the membership of Tier 3 football leagues in Wales for 2020-21 was made by the FAW today.

There was good news for some, not so good for others, while the placings for some successful clubs were somewhat mind-boggling.

In the north, the leagues were split into North East and North West, but geographically some choices made little sense.

Some of the former Welsh National League (Wrexham Area) clubs were put into the West division, where it would have made far more sense to see them in East.

The FAW came in for some bombardment on social media, some commenters querying where the announcement was a prank.

The most baffling selection of all sees Rhos Aelwyd and Rhostyllen – TWO MILES APART – put in separate leagues.

An FAW statement said:

“The FAW National Leagues Board met remotely today to confirm the 64 clubs who will participate at Tier 3 of the Welsh Football Pyramid from the start of the 2020/21 season.

“Of the 84 clubs who were successful in attaining Tier 3 Certification, six of them: Holyhead Hotspur, Holywell Town, Llanidloes Town, Port Talbot Town, Risca United and Trefelin BGC have been promoted to Tier 2.

“In addition, 3 clubs; Bangor 1876, Builth Wells and Hawarden Rangers applied for vacancies at Tier 3.

“The remaining 75 clubs all applied for Tier 3 Certification as per the FAW Pyramid Regulations and were allocated places in the new Tier 3 Leagues based on sporting merit and geographical location.

“In addition, the NLB considered one of the key objectives of the FAW Pyramid Review to provide two predominantly northern leagues and two predominantly southern leagues within the Tier 3 structure.”

The brand name for the new leagues, as well as news on who plays where in Tier 4 will be announced “in due course”, say the FAW.

FAW Tier 3 League line-ups 2020-21

North East (16)

Bow Street
Cefn Albion
Chirk AAA
Four Crosses
Llanfair United
Montgomery Town
Rhos Aelwyd
Welshpool Town

North West (16)

Blaenau Amateurs
Brickfield Rangers
Denbigh Town
Llandudno Albion
Llanrwst United
Llay Welfare
Mold Alexandra
Nantlle Vale
Saltney Town
St Asaph City
Y Felinheli

Clubs with Tier 3 certification awaiting which tier 4 league they will play in next season

Bangor 1876
Barmouth and Dyffryn
Hawarden Rangers
Penmaenmawr Phoenix

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: