Flint Town United could be part of proposed new-look 14-team Cymru Premier

Prestatyn Town (red) and Flint in action during the 2019-20 Cymru North season. Picture: John Pickles

Flint Town United are set to be promoted to what is believed will be a new-look 14-team Cymru Premier League this season – but Prestatyn Town miss out, Grassroots North Wales has been told.

Although 2019-20 Cymru North champions Prestatyn finished 16 points ahead of runners-up Flint, the Seasiders were twice refused the domestic Tier 1 licence essential to compete in the top league by the FAW on ground criteria issues.

Prestatyn have now dropped plans to take their case to the Court of Arbitration for Sport over the decision.

The stumbling block for the club was a TV gantry considered unsuitable for the latest broadcasting needs.

This means Flint, who possess the mandatory licence, will enter the top flight of Welsh football for the first time since being relegated from the League of Wales in 1997-98.

Prestatyn Town CEO Leigh Williams confirmed today that the club will remain in the Cymru North this season.

“We have dropped the legal action and are now focusing on building a team to go and win the league again,” he said.

It is proposed the Cymru Premier membership will rise from 12 to 14 teams this term. It has been a 12-team league since 2010-11.

If agreed, there will be no relegation following the shortened 2019-20 campaign, with bottom two Carmarthen Town and Airbus UK Broughton staying up.

The tier-two Cymru North would reduce to 16 teams in 2020-21 compared to the 17 of last season.

Relegated would be Corwen and Llanfair United, while Holywell Town come up after winning the now defunct Welsh National League Premier Division last term and are joined by Welsh Alliance champions Holyhead Hotspur.

Also rising to the Cymru North are Llanidloes Town.

The proposed make-up of the finalised three Cymru Leagues is expected to be rubber-stamped by the FAW board tomorrow (Wednesday) if not sooner.

The possible line ups of the leagues will be:

Cymru Premier (14)

Aberystwyth Town
Airbus UK Broughton
Bala Town
Barry Town United
Caernarfon Town
Cardiff Metropolitan
Carmarthen Town
Cefn Druids
Connah’s Quay Nomads
Flint Town United
Haverfordwest County
The New Saints

Cymru North (16)

Bangor City
Buckley Town
Colwyn Bay
Conwy Borough
Gresford Athletic
Holyhead Hotspur
Holywell Town
Llangefni Town
Llanidloes Town
Prestatyn Town
Ruthin Town

Cymru South (15)

Afan Lido
Briton Ferry Llansawel
Caerau Ely
Cambrian and Clydach Vale
Cwmamman United
Goytre United
Llanelli Town
Llantwit Major
Pontypridd Town
Risca United
Swansea University
Taffs Well
Trefellin BGC
Undy Athletic

The finalised shape of the top three leagues will enable those from tier 3 (under the auspices of the FAW from 2020-21) and tiers 4 and 5 (governed by the area associations) to progress setting up their league memberships for this season.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: