Hugo boss: Colace becomes Bangor City’s eighth manager in four years

Hugo Colace aims to get Bangor City back into the Cymru Premier League

Hugo Colace is the 45th manager of Bangor City to be registered in the history books.

He is also the club’s eighth appointment since the departure of the much-celebrated Neville Powell in summer 2016.

Born in Buenos Aires, Colace represented the Argentina national under-20 football team in the FIFA World Youth Championship in 2003, when his country finished fourth.

He captained the side which included players such as Carlos Tevez, Javier Mascherano and Lionel Messi.

Colace joined Flamengo on August 30, 2007, but moved to Football League club Barnsley on a three-year deal on June 27, 2008.

During the 2009-10 season, Colace scored 8 goals in all competitions. He received Barnsley’s player of the season and player’s player awards on April 21, 2010, but was not keen on signing a new contract.

He finally agreed to return to Oakwell on July 20, 2010, signing a two-year deal.

Listed for loan due to a loss in form with Barnsley, on May 31, 2011 Colace signed with Mexican club Estudiantes Tecos.

Tecos were relegated in the 2011-12 season and he joined Ligue 2 side AJ Auxerre in September 2012.

On 6 November, 2015, it was announced that Colace would be spending some time on trial at his former club, Barnsley, in the hope of earning a contract.

Colace signed for Bangor City on January 2, 2020, and on June 5, 2020, he was appointed manager of the Cymru North club.

List of Bangor City managers

1876–28 Unknown
1928–32 Sydney Beaumont
1932–35 Len Davies
1935–36 Harry Hadley
1937–39 David Pratt
1948–52 George Richardson
1952–57 Roland Depear
1957–67 T. G. (Tommy) Jones
1967–70 Mick McGrath
1970 Ken Barnes
1970–72 John Doherty
1972–74 Alex Smith
1974–75 Dick Jones
1975 Barry Ashworth (caretaker player-manager)
1975–76 Roy Rees
1976–78 Dave Elliott
1978–79 Stuart Mason (player-manager)
1979–80 Stan Storton
1980–81 Colin Hawkins
1981–84 Dave Elliott
1984–87 John Mahoney
1987 John Aspinall
1987–88 Kevin Mooney
1988–89 Bryan Owen
1989–92 John Mahoney
1992 Ernie Walley
1992–93 Paul Rowlands
1993–96 Nigel Adkins
1996 Bryan Griffiths
1996–97 Kevin Langley
1997–98 Graeme Sharp
1998 Johnny King
1998–99 Lee Williams
1999–2001 Meirion Appleton
2001–05 Peter Davenport
2005–06 Mel Jones (caretaker)
2006 Clayton Blackmore
2006–07 Steve Bleasdale
2007–2016 Neville Powell
August 2016– November 2016 Andy Legg
November 2016– March 2017 Ian Dawes
March 2017–May 2017 Gary Taylor-Fletcher (caretaker player-manager)
May 22, 2017–May 2018 Kevin Nicholson
May 2018– October 2018 Craig Harrison
October 2018–November 2018 Stephen James Vaughan (caretaker)
November 2018–May 2019 Gary Taylor-Fletcher
July 2019–June 2020 Pedro Pasculli
June 5, 2020–present Hugo Colace

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: