Farewell to the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Football League

Rhuddlan Town (pictured from 2019-20) were the first and last Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League Premier Division champions. Picture: Steve Bowden

The Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League formed in 2011 following the split up of the old Clwyd League.

The North East Wales FA started the Clwyd East League, comprising Flintshire teams, and the North Wales Coast FA began the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy, made up of Denbighshire, Conwy county and Vale of Conwy sides.

In its nine seasons, the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy has produced some great teams. Seven of its eight champions were in the tier three/four Welsh Alliance League last season.

The first and last champions of the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Premier Division were Rhuddlan Town.

Predecessor the Clwyd League was formed in 1974-75.

Just 10 teams took part in its first season and Prestatyn Town were crowned inaugural champions.

The following season the league expanded considerably, taking clubs from the former Halkyn and Dyserth Area Leagues on board, as well as the Flintshire Youth leagues.

At one time the league operated with four divisions.

Unfortunately, some of the league’s history is difficult to compile with missing records the most prominent problem.

On the Welsh Football Data Archive, the record for the 1982-83 Premier Division champions is included, but not the name of the team.

Four tables – 1984/85, 1985-86, 1986-87 and 1987-88 are missing. Apparently this is down to two league officials falling out and blaming the other for the omissions.

This is only 30-35 years ago, not Tudor times, and these tables should be available.

It is a very poor show and for that reason Grassroots North Wales will make no attempt to log the Clwyd League’s history, as it has done with all other leagues.

Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League list of champions

Prestatyn Sports quadruple winners of 2014-15 – one of the finest teams to feature in the Vale of Clwyd and Conwy Premier Division

Premier Division
2011/12 Rhuddlan Town
2012/13 St Asaph City
2013/14 Llannefydd
2014/15 Prestatyn Sports
2015/16 Llandudno Albion
2016/17 Llannefydd
2017/18 Kinmel Bay
2018/19 Llandudno Amateurs
2019/20 Rhuddlan Town

Llandudno Amateurs won both Division One and the Premier Division

Division One
2011/12 Betws-yn-Rhos
2012/13 Machno United
2013-14 Conwy Legion United
2014/15 Prestatyn Sports Reserves
2015/16 Llanfairfechan Town
2016/17 Cerrigydrudion
2017/18 Llandudno Amateurs
2018/19 Llanelwy Athletic
2019/20 NFA

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: