Gwynedd League: Bangor 1876 storm to title and prove they belong at higher level

Dylan Summers-Jones (blue) never stopped scoring for Gwynedd League champions 1876

Bangor 1876 could not have dreamed of a better debut season in the Gwynedd League.

Mel Jones and Dylan Williams’ side were crowned champions this week with a perfect P-P-G of 3.00 – the result of 16 straight wins.

Although the fan-owned club still had 12 league matches to play, there is very little doubt they would have ended up title winners whatever the circumstances.

Nefyn United end the campaign as runners-up, with Menai Bridge Tigers an excellent third under Aaron Rowlands and newly-named Trearddur Bay Bulls in fourth.

Those 16 consecutive victories saw 1876 pile up an amazing 115 goals while conceding just 9.

With experienced former Welsh Premier players like Les Davies, Michael Johnston and Jamie Petrie in the ranks, the newcomers certainly brought some glamour to the Gwynedd League.

It could have been much better for the Treborth-based outfit, who were also well-placed to win the NWCFA Junior Cup, Gwynedd Cup, Bob Owen Memorial Shield and Safeflue Shield.

However, the decision of the FAW to cancel the rest of the season due to coronavirus this week put paid to that.

From 30 matches in all competitions, 1876 won 28 and lost just twice, to higher league Ruthin Town and Llanrwst United in the Welsh Cup and FAW Trophy respectively.

The blue and whites also beat three tier-three teams in the top two knockout competitions, thus proving they belong at a higher level.

While 1876 were expected to do well this season, they probably over-achieved overall, mainly based on their cup successes.

Top scorers in all competitions were Dylan Summers-Jones (45), Petrie (43) and Davies (23).
Summers-Jones hit 31 in the league and Petrie 29.

Bangor 1876 league results – 2019-20 season

Feb 1: Llanystumdwy (a – GL) 11-0 (Summers-Jones 4, Petrie 2, Davies, Lee McNulty, Parry, Leon Owens, Harry Jones)
Jan 18: Bethesda Ath (a – GL) 10-2 (Petrie 4, 1 pen, Dafydd Thomas 2, Cameron Barry, Cian Williams, Summers-Jones, Matt Lock)
Jan 11: Ogwen Tigers (h – GL) 7-0 (Parry 4, Summers-Jones 2, Lundstram)
Jan 6: Waunfawr (h – GL) 4-0 (Cian Williams, Davies, Summers-Jones, Sion Parry)
Jan 4: Glantraeth (a – GL) 4-0 (Johnston, Summers-Jones, Petrie, Ben Owen)
Dec 30: Bontnewydd (h – GL) 13-2 (Matt Lock, Summers-Jones 5, Davies 3, Petrie, Cameron Barry, Luke Steele, Lundstram)
Dec 21: Llanystumdwy (h – GL) 6-0 (Lundstram, Johnston, Shaun Lock, Petrie, Summers-Jones, 1 OG)
Dec 14: Caergybi (a – GL 6-0 (Cian Williams, Petrie 2, Lundstram, Summers-Jones 2)
Dec 7: Trearddur Bay Bulls (a – GL) 2-1 (Summers-Jones 2)
Oct 15: Bethesda Ath (h – GL) 14-0 (Petrie 5, Summers-Jones 3, Davies 2, Dion Jones 2, Cian Williams, Cameron Barry)
Oct 8: Llannerchymedd (h – GL) 12-0 (Summers-Jones 4, Petrie 3, Davies 2, Jos Lloyd-Jones 2, Dafydd Thomas)
Sep 21: Talysarn Celts (a – GL) 4-2 (Dylan Williams, Davies, Petrie 2, 1 pen)
Aug 26: Llangoed (a – GL) 5-0 (Petrie 3, 1 pen, Davies, Leon Owens)
Aug 24: Nefyn United (h – GL) 3-1 (Petrie 2, 1 pen, Les Davies)
Aug 19: Caergybi (h – GL) 10-0 (Summers-Jones 3, Jos Lloyd-Jones 2, Petrie 2, Cian Williams, Cameron Barry, Leon Owens)
Aug 10: Ogwen Tigers (a – GL) 4-1 (Dylan Summers-Jones 2, Jamie Petrie, Benn Lundstram)
P 16 W 16 D 0 L 0 GF 115 GA 9

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: