Welsh Cup classics: Aberystwyth Town v Prestatyn Town (2016-17)

James Stead (all blue) was Prestatyn’s hat-trick star at Park Avenue. Pic: Chris Howells

Aberystwyth Town 1 Prestatyn Town 5
Welsh Cup round four
Jan 28, 2017

James Stead was a hat-trick hero as Cymru Alliance visitors Prestatyn massively upset the odds by thrashing Welsh Premier hosts Aberystwyth 5-1 to reach the Welsh Cup quarter-finals.

This must rank as one of Neil Gibson’s side’s finest performances ever in the national knockout aside from the season they won the trophy.

The visitors made a mockery of the term underdogs as they took apart opponents who beat them by the same score in the 2008/09 competition.

At that time both teams were in the Welsh Premier.

On a sunny, breezy Saturday afternoon at Park Avenue, Prestatyn took the lead on 30 minutes when Jack Kenny pressure forced Sam Rodon to send his back-pass into the home net.

Noah Edwards burst between two defenders to smash the ball into the roof of the net to give Prestatyn a 2-0 half-time lead.

Nice and stead-y does it. James Stead will never forget his Welsh Cup heroics at Aber. Picture: John Pickles

The second half saw the visitors start on fire and when Stead hammered home a 51st minute shot from 18 yards it was no more than they deserved.

On the hour that man Stead was again centre stage when he strode onto an Edwards pass to drive in from 10 yards.

James Stead looks on as team-mate Michael Parker wins a header. Picture: Chris Howells

Aber pulled one back through Luke Sherbon on 63, but 10 minutes from time Stead made it 5-1 to complete his treble and earn the Seasiders a home tie with gap Connah’s Quay in the last eight.

Although Prestatyn lost that game they pushed Nomads all the way to penalties.

Aberystwyth Town: Chris Mullock, Cledan Davies, Sam Rodon, Jamie Crowther, Luke Sherbon, Luke Borrelli, Ryan Wollacott, Kurtis March, Elliot Scotcher, Dan Alfei, Chris Jones. Subs: Will Bell, Jack Rimmer, Kostyn Georgievsky, Josh Crowl, Daniel Hopton

Prestatyn Town: Carl Jones, Tom Kemp, Jack Lewis, Myles Hart, Reece Fairhurst, Noah Edwards, Michael Parker, James Stead, Jack Kenny, Ben Maher, Jordan Davies. Subs: Paul O’Neill, Ryan Roberts, Alec Williams, Ross Weaver, Warren Adam.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: