Bob Brodie Trophy: The goals must stop for a while

Trearddur Bay Bulls’ Justin Williams (all grey) is up to 25 goals for the season. Picture by: Wynne Evans

Steve Whitaker of Cemaes Bay holds a 10-goal lead in the latest Bob Brodie Trophy standings.
The trophy is competed for every season and recognises the top goalscorer in Anglesey senior football.
The competition was introduced in 2012 to celebrate the life and football legacy of Bob, a former player and manager on the island, who sadly passed away the year before.

The chart might not be updated for a while with the postponement of all matches in Wales until April 4 at least due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to March 14, 2020)

39 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)
29 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Hotspur – 19 goals for Holyhead Town)
25 – Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls)
21 – Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy), Wayne Thomas (Llangoed)
20 – Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur)
19 – Marc Evans (Gwalchmai), Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay)
18 – Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town), Craig Moore (Trearddur Bay Bulls – 13 for Holyhead Hotspur), Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors)
17 – Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers)
16 – Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai), Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – 13 for Holyhead Town)
15 – Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali), Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls), James Ryan (Glantraeth – 11 for Caergybi)
14 – Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay), Tom Hadley (Holyhead Town – 13 for Trearddur Bay Bulls), Tom Zalot (Llangoed – 8 for Llanfairpwll)
13 – Nathan Moore (Aberffraw), Deian Parry (Holyhead Hotspur), Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res)
12 – Brad Bland (Glantraeth), Ben Wright (Cefni)
11 – Aidan Clark (Bodedern Athletic), Iwan Williams (Gaerwen), Gary Bolton (Aberffraw), Chris Bennett (Gaerwen)
10 – Llion Roberts (Llangoed), Casey Gregg (Holyhead Hotspur Res). Mitchell Jones (Menai Bridge Tigers), Connor Rees (Bodorgan)

2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: