Bob Brodie Trophy: Who is in the goals?

Asa Thomas (maroon) of Holyhead Hotspur has scored 26 goals this season. Picture: Ian Francis

While there have been a fair few goals flying around among the top five contenders for the Bob Brodie Trophy in the past fortnight, no-one has managed to close the gap to commanding leader Steve Whittaker of Cemaes Bay.

Jac Thomas of Bro Goronwy has become the fourth player to reach the 20-goal mark this season, but Whittaker is still 13 ahead of his nearest challenger on 39.

The annual competition for the leading goalscorer in Anglesey senior football is now in its ninth season and commemorates Bob, a former manager and player on the island, who sadly passed away in 2011.

Since then, there have been five Anglesey League and three Welsh Alliance winners of the golden boot, with the holder of the record for the most goals going to James Ryan, who netted 72 for Caergybi last year.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to and including Feb 8, 2020)

39 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)

26 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Hotspur – 19 goals for Holyhead Town)

21 – Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

20 – Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy)

19 – Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Wayne Thomas (Llangoed)

18 – Marc Evans (Gwalchmai), Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town), Craig Moore (Trearddur Bay Bulls – 13 for Holyhead Hotspur), Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay), Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors)

17 – Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur)

16 – Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers)

15 – Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali), Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls), Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – 13 for Holyhead Town)

14 – Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai) , Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay), Tom Hadley (Holyhead Town – 13 for Trearddur Bay Bulls)

13 – Deian Parry (Holyhead Hotspur), Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res)

12 – James Ryan (Glantraeth – 11 for Caergybi), Brad Bland (Glantraeth)

11 – Aidan Clark (Bodedern Athletic), Iwan Williams (Gaerwen), Nathan Moore (Aberffraw)

10 – Llion Roberts (Llangoed), Casey Gregg (Holyhead Hotspur Res). Gary Bolton (Aberffraw), Mitchell Jones (Menai Bridge Tigers)


2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: