Bob Brodie Trophy: Steven Whittaker first to reach 30 goals mark

Steve Whittaker of Cemaes Bay (red) has passed 30 goals for the season. Picture: Edryd Jones

Steven Whittaker became the first island player to reach 30 senior goals this season when scoring four times for Cemaes Bay in their 9-1 weekend cup pasting of Llanfairpwll.

Holyhead Hotspur’s Asa Thomas is still within touching distance in second place. His seven goals for Hotspur’s first and reserves team combined since moving from Holyhead Town have edged him up to 26 for the campaign.

Joint third on 18 goals apiece are Amlwch Town’s Ryan Rowlands, Jac Thomas of Bro Goronwy and Trearddur Bay Bulls hitman Justin Williams.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to and including Dec 28, 2019)

32 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)
26 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Hotspur – 19 goals for Holyhead Town)
18 – Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town), Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy), Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls)
17 – Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Marc Evans (Gwalchmai)
15 – Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay), Wayne Thomas (Llangoed), Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors)
14 – Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay)
13 – Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Gary Jo Owen (Holyhead Town), Tom Hadley (Trearddur Bay Bulls), Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers)
12 – Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai), Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali), Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls)
11 – Aidan Clark (Bodedern Athletic), James Ryan (Caergybi)
10 – Iwan Williams (Gaerwen), Llion Roberts (Llangoed), Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res)
9 – Brad Bland (Glantraeth), Tudur Williams (Valley), Casey Gregg (Holyhead Hotspur Res), Deian Parry (Holyhead Hotspur), Daniel Jones (Cemaes Bay)
8 – Jerome Sillence (Valley), Tom Zalot (Llanfairpwll), Rees Roberts (Pentraeth), Aaron Jones (Bodorgan), Dafydd Jones (Cemaes Bay), Lewis Connor (Cemaes Bay)

2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: