Bob Brodie Trophy: Steve seven clear but “Loggs” is on fire

Steven Whittaker (red) continues to lead the goals trail. Picture: Edryd Jones

Although Cemaes Bay did not play this weekend, their prolific striker Steven Whittaker still holds a handy seven-goal lead at the Bob Brodie Trophy table peak.

Asa Thomas of Holyhead Hotspur was back in the goals on Saturday, his net-finder in a 3-2 win over Penmaenmawr lifting him up to 19.

A very interesting move up the standings was produced by Marc Evans of Gwalchmai, who bagged all five in his team’s 5-2 success at Kinmel Bay.

That put “Loggs” on 13 goals for the campaign. If he gets on a big run, there is no limit to how many he can score.

Nice to see Craig Moore into double figures too. He followed up his recent four-goal salvo for Holyhead Hotspur’s first team by pocketing three for the reserves at the weekend. Craig netted 57 for Bryngwran Bulls last term.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to and including Nov 23, 2019)

26 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)

19 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Town)

17  – Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy)

16 –  Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town)

15 –  Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay),  Wayne Thomas (Llangoed)

14 – Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

13 – Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Marc Evans (Gwalchmai), Gary Jo Owen (Holyhead Town), Tom Hadley (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

12 –  Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali), Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors),  Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur)

11 – Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai), Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls),  Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay)

10 –  Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers), Llion Roberts (Llangoed)

9 –   Iwan Williams (Gaerwen),  James Ryan (Caergybi)

8 –  Jerome Sillence (Valley), Tom Zalot (Llanfairpwll), Tudur Williams (Valley),  Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res),  Rees Roberts (Pentraeth),  Casey Gregg (Holyhead Hotspur Res),  Aaron Jones (Bodorgan)

2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58  

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: