Netball: A night of very close games in Gwynedd and Anglesey Division One

Porthmadog netball team, who play in Division One of the Gwynedd and Anglesey Netball League, pictured in their new kit from Teejac, with sponsors from Spar Tremadog and Golden Fleece, Tremadog.

An amazing night of netball in Division One of the Gwynedd and Anglesey Winter League saw three games decided by a single goal.

Arfon Celts led Menai Mavericks 15-10 at half time, yet the Anglesey side rallied to lead by one going into the last. And Menai maintained that one-goal advantage until the end for a 26-25 victory.

Porthmadog won the opener 8-7 against Primos and trailed by just two at the split. However, Primos took over in the second half, dominating quarter three 12-4 and edging the curtain-closer to take the win 36-25.

Dyffryn Ladies pipped Summer League champions Arfon Ladies from the final play.

It was 11-9 to Dyffryn at midway, but Arfon hit back to be 17-16 in front ahead of the last quarter. And it was Dyffryn who won that session 8-6 to celebrate the 24-23 victory.

There was a similar story when Dolgellau took on Pwllheli.

Pwll were 10-8 in front at half time, but Dolgellau controlled the third quarter 7-3. Although Pwllheli won the last 4-3, it was Dolgellau who triumphed overall 18-17.

Scores, line-ups and awards

Arfon Celts 25-26 Menai Mavericks
(8-6; 15-10; 19-20; 25-26)

Celts: Anya Jones, Ally Williams, Erin Davies, Tanisha Burgher, Cerys Davies, Anna Selick, Danni Power. Sub: Siwan R Jones.
Mavericks: Laura Webber, Jessie Jones, Katie Skeoch, Collette Charker, Lisa Campbell, Kathryn Hughes, Kelly Roose. Sub: Steph Yau-Jones
Players of the Match
Celts: Umpires and Players – Tanisha Burgher.
Mavericks: Umpires – Katie Skeoch; Players – Steph Yau-Jones.

Primos 36-25 Porthmadog
(7-8; 18-16; 30-20; 36-25)

Primos: Gill Roberts-Jones, Cherelle Jarvis, Nia Roberts, Catrin Williams, Eurwen Williams, Sylvie Smith, Rhiannon Thomas.
Porthmadog: Debs Brookes, Sarah Williams, Diane Williams, Beca Thomas, Alaw Jones, Sara O’Neill, Zoe Hall. Subs: Catrin Williams, Ceri Roberts
Primos: Umpires – Nia Roberts; Players – Cherelle Jarvis.
Porthmadog: Umpires and Players – Beca Thomas.

Arfon Ladies 23-24 Dyffryn Ladies
(6-7; 9-11; 17-16; 23-24)

Arfon: Llinos Dobbins, Kathryn Caine, Alaw Davies, Clare Roberts, Diane Davies, Cadi Bracegirdle, Debbie Jones. Subs: Amy Evans, Anest Edwards.
Dyffryn: Sarah Spooner, Ffion Jones, Ellen Cook, Greta Jams, Abbie Owen, Elin Evans, Amelia Mayo. Sub: Alaw Jones.
Arfon: Umpires – Clare Roberts; Players – Kath Caine
Dyffryn: Umpires and Players – Ffion Jones.

Dolgellau 18-17 Pwllheli
(4-5; 8-10; 15-13; 18-17)

Dolgellau: Penny Hughes, Catrin Gittins, Meg Evans, Sara James, Ceri Jones, Ceris Hughes, Steph Owen. Sub: Lucy Phasey.
Pwllheli: Ceri Brown, Victoria Doodson, Lily Doodson, Alaw Griffith, Tabi Tomlinson, Tara Thorne, Steffi Studt. Sub: Sarah Brown.
Dolgellau: Umpires and Players – Steph Owen

Pwllheli: Umpires – Steffi Studt; Players – Ceri Brown.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: