Bob Brodie Trophy: Asa Thomas regains top place with weekend double

Back on top: Asa Thomas of Holyhead Town. Picture supplied by Amlwch Town FC

Asa Thomas of Holyhead Town finished the weekend back at the summit of the Bob Brodie Trophy table after losing top spot on Friday night.

Steve Whittaker’s Friday night four-goal haul for Cemaes Bay put him at the peak on 17, but the following day Thomas played for Holyhead Town Reserves in a 7-6 win and netted twice to return to the pinnacle.

The Bob Brodie Trophy is an annual competition which rewards the top goal-getter in senior Anglesey football. It is named in honour of Bob, a former player and manager who lived in Holyhead and left us in 2011, but will always be remembered.

Bob Brodie Trophy standings
(up to and including Oct 19, 2019)

18 – Asa Thomas (Holyhead Town)

17 – Steve Whittaker (Cemaes Bay)

15 –  Andy Williams (Cemaes Bay)

14 – Jac Thomas (Bro Goronwy), Ryan Rowlands (Amlwch Town)

13 – Gary Jo Owen (Holyhead Town)

12 –  Robert Jones (Holyhead Hotspur),  Casey Boylan (Bodedern Athletic – 11 for CPD Y Fali)

11 – Chris Jones (Holyhead Hotspur), Dean Redmond (Bodedern Athletic), Corey Sinnott (Gwalchmai), Gwynfor Owen (Trearddur Bay Bulls), Justin Williams (Trearddur Bay Bulls)

9 –  Tom Hadley (Trearddur Bay Bulls),  Luke Allaway (Bodorgan Juniors)

8 –  Iwan Williams (Gaerwen), Jerome Sillence (Valley), Tom Zalot (Llanfairpwll), Callum Davidson (Menai Bridge Tigers),  Tudur Williams (Valley),  Keenan Downey (Cemaes Bay)

7 –  James Ryan (Caergybi), Curt Williams (Holyhead Hotspur Res)

6 –  Aaron Jones (Bodorgan), Rees Roberts (Pentraeth)

5 – Llion Jones (Gaerwen), Mark Jones (Gwalchmai), Dafydd Healy (Menai Bridge Tigers), Cian Evans (Glantraeth), Todd Cusick (Cemaes Bay), Darren Lewthwaite (Gaerwen), Lewis Owen (Pentraeth Res), Casey Gregg & Craig Moore (Holyhead Hotspur Res), Elliot Jones (Llanfairpwll), Mark Thomas (Cefni), Kelvin Frazer (Menai Bridge Tigers), Jordan Edney (Bro Goronwy), Wayne Thomas (Llangoed), Dafydd Jones (Cemaes Bay)


2018/19 James Ryan (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 72
2017/18 Gary Jo Owen (Caergybi – Anglesey League) 58
2016/17 Corrig McGonigle (Glantraeth – Welsh Alliance) 59
2015/16: Corrig McGonigle (Pentraeth – Welsh Alliance) 64
2014/15: Steven Whittaker (Cemaes Bay – Anglesey League) 42
2013/14: Gary Jo Owen (Morawelon – Anglesey League) 57
2012/13: Lance Williams (Menai Bridge Tigers – Anglesey League) 62
2011/12: Mel McGinness (Holyhead Hotspur – Welsh Alliance) 50
Average winning goals total per season = 58

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: