North Wales Cricket League: Conwy and Caernarfon celebrate great seasons

Conwy are more than worthy Division One champions

Division One

Conwy rounded off an unforgettable season like true champions with a 10-wicket success at Bethesda.

Having already clinched the title and secured a Premier Division berth for the first time in their history, the Bodlondeb side’s 15-0 victory at Parc Villa ensured they finished top by a 23-point margin.

Conwy were in the groove from day one and ended up winning 16 out of 22 matches, losing just once.

All-rounder Shaun Davies stood out with 478 league runs and 29 wickets, but several others played their part, batsmen Rajjenu Britto and Daniel Davies both topping the 350-mark, while Graham Meredith led the bowling with 42 victims.

Conwy put 10-man Bethesda in on Saturday and rolled over their opponents for just 62, Stan Senior taking 3-15 off six overs, Meredith 2-11 from eight, Anthony Thorp 2-13 off seven and Patrick Jelley 2-20.

The visitors then stormed to 65-0 in a mere 8.1 overs, Jonathon Davies totally dominating the opening stand with 62 no.

Llay Welfare are runners-up following a seven-wicket victory over Mold.

Other scores

Carmel and District (3) 63-10 (Gwion Dafydd 32 no, David Moulson 6-9) Abergele (12) 64-6 (Gareth Edwards 30, Michael Rapson 4-35)

Dolgellau (3) 144-10 (Greg Smithies 89, Scott Thomas 5-26) Llanrwst (12) 180-9 (Huw Williams 51, Trefor Williams 39)

Hawarden Park (2) 103-10 (Amith Thilakarathne 5-28) Bersham (13) 162 (Suresh Lakmal Koswaththage 54, Craig Wilson 3-6, Michael Wootton 3-24, Ian Martin 3-38)

Llay Welfare (13) 178-3 (John Lloyd 67 no, Mike Phennah 37 no) Mold (2) 176-8 (Kieron Coppack 40, Usman Butt 35, Tom Crewe 4-35).

Division Two

Halkyn were confirmed as Division Two champions after a seven-wicket away triumph at Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn.

Gareth Thomas took 4-18 to finish on 43 league wickets for the season as the hosts were bowled out for 152, Ben Wilbraham claiming 3-18 from 10, Carl Jutson scoring 39.

Halkyn coasted to 153-3 off 35 overs, Alex North 43 no, Ben Roberts 41, sealing a 13-2 points split.

Bangor 2nds made sure of runners-up and promotion with a 13-2 points verdict at Northop 2nds.

Sohaib Khan made 71 and Peter Jones 38 as Bangor set 215-7, then Northop were limited to 142-7, Aidan Kelly 2-20 and Bethan Hughes 2-23, both off 10 overs apiece.

Other scores

Buckley (14) 196-9 (Joseph Norman 91, Ross Roberts 3-14, Terry Jones 3-38) Brymbo 2nds (1) 104-10 (Matthew Turner 47, Adam Shaw 4-29)

Marchwiel and Wrexham (2) 125-10 (Adam Khan 3-36, Matt Daulby 3-43) Gresford 2nds (13) 192-6 (David Baker 65, George Morris 48 no)

Mochdre 2nds (15) 176-9 (Scott Roberts 79) Menai Bridge 2nds 71-10 (Danny Creek 32, Dan Miller 2-12, Scott Brown 2-20, Ben Ashworth 2-23)

Division Three

Denbigh 2nds snatched promotion with a thumping 15-0 win over champions St Asaph 2nds.

Jon Eccles struck a commanding 158 no as Denbigh set a mammoth 262-2 off 45 overs, Adam El-Lamie 32 no and Archie Sussex 31.

Ifan Jones then grabbed 5-22 as Saints were all out for 80 and crashed to just their second defeat of the campaign.

Other scores

Gwersyllt Park 2nds (14) 113-1 (Dominic Mitchell 76 no, Ryan Collier 33) Abergele 2nds (1) 110-10 (Ryan Collier 4-20, Stephen Conner 4-20)

Mold 2nds (12) 173-9 (Ewan Hill 35, Luca Davies 34, Chris Boden 5-23) Connah’s Quay 2nds (3) 137-10 (Rhys Ryder 38, Keith Embleton 4-36, Craig Roberts 3-12)

Pontblyddyn 2nds (14) 205-9 (Nick Thomas 36, Sion Thomas 34, Samuel Jones 3-38) Buckley 2nds (1) 120-10 (Jack Massey 69, Ethan Roberts 3-27).

Division Four

Caernarfon players and supporters celebrate winning Division Four

Clwb Criced Caernarfon finished champions after a nine-wicket success at Halkyn 2nds.

Ian Morgan pocketed 6-18 as 10-man Halkyn were dismissed for 40, then the Cofis eased to 41-1 for a 14-1 points split.

Conwy 2nds were already promoted and ended their season in ruthless fashion with a 15-0 home caning of Bethesda 2nds.

Sion Keir posted 98, Andrew Davies 56 and Ed Favill 43 as Conwy piled up 247-4 off 40 overs, then sent 10-man Pesda packing for 62, Vaughan Williams 4-12.

Other scores

Llangollen (4) 108-10 (Harry Capstick 30, Osian Roberts 3-10, Dafydd Roberts 3-11) Ruthin 2nds (11) 109-9 (Murray Whitehead 50, Richard Hughes 4-10, Kamran Hassan 4-23).

Llanrwst 2nds (12) 129-5 (Ian Nicholls 51, Iestyn Williams 47 no) Llandudno 2nds (3) 126-9 (Joe Lambe 30, Alwyn Williams 3-15).

Premier Division

Franco Kasner claimed another five wickets for the champions. Picture: Andre Pepper @eventphotowales

Champions Bangor ended their season with a six-wicket home win over Mochdre.

James French top-scored with 46 as Mochdre were all back in the pavilion for just 86, Franco Kasner claiming 5-27, and the Citizens replied with 87-4 for a 13-2 verdict, Idrees Ijaz 47.

The 2018 champions Menai Bridge are runners-up this time around.

Sean O’Callaghan snared 4-40 and Dion Holden 3-25 as the Bridge bowled out visitors Pwllheli for 124, Morgan Murray-Williams 42, then the Anglesey side hit back with 126-5, Holden 40 no, to secure a 12-3 decision.

Gareth Boys bagged 6-17 and Mohamed Nilam Jayman 4-19 as Brymbo skittled out relegated Connah’s Quay for 53, the Steelmen reponding with 56-2 for a 14-1 points win, Adam Smith 32 no.

Relegated Pontblyddyn said goodbye to the Premier on a high with victory at Llandudno.

Gethin Thomas made 66 and Glenn Chambers 55 no as Pont posted 196-6, Jack Thornton 4-36, then Tudno were kept down to 150-9, Luke Kenworthy 32.

Denbigh were all out for 155 at Gresford, Gerallt Lyall 45 and Andy Clarke 30, John Bell 3-20 off 12 for the hosts, who reached 156-6 for a 12-3 success, Matthew Cree 31.

St Asaph’s powerful end to the season continued with a 15-0 hammering of Northop.

Skipper Will Ryan hit 71 to pass 500 league runs for the season, Danny Ryan added 56 no and Jason Foulkes 51 as Asaph amassed 248-5, the visitors managing just 98 all out in reply, Gareth Williams 31, David North 4-23, Richard Marsh-Evans 3-25 and Liam Moores 3-35.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: