Welsh Cup: Eight goals from Plas machine Williams, giant-killings for Isa, Coedy, Llanfairfechan and New Brighton

Amlwch Town (blue) and Holyhead Town clash in a Welsh Cup epic. Pic: Gethin Jones, Amlwch Town FC

Nicky Williams banged in eight goals in Plas Madoc’s 12-2 away demolition of Rhosllanerchrugog in the Welsh Cup first qualifying round.

Jamie Williams (2), Richard Lawrence and Marky Davies delivered the rest for the Welsh National League Premier Division side against their outgunned Division One hosts.

Amazingly it was not a club record for Nicky Williams as he netted 10 in one game for Plas back in the club’s North East Wales League days.

Nicky Williams (right) with Plas Madic manager Ryan Roberts

Asa Thomas notched a hat-trick to make it 13 goals in seven matches this season as Holyhead Town triumphed 5-3 at Amlwch Town.

Ryan Lees added a double for the Harbourmen, who had pipped Amlwch 6-5 in a league thriller just a fortnight earlier.

Ryan Rowlands (2) and Chris Byast (pen) were on target for Town, who led twice in a storming tie at Lon Bach.

Bangor 1876 won their first-ever Welsh Cup tie, recovering from a goal down to defeat Llandudno Athletic 4-1, Jamie Petrie (pen), Cameron Barry, Cian Williams and Dylan Summers-Jones sharing the goals. Lee Stokes had edged Athletic in front.

Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League Premier Division giant-killers Llanfairfechan Town knocked out Kinmel Bay of the Welsh Alliance 5-3.

Thomas Croston (2), Harry Croston, Iwan Jones and Ryan Lewis produced Llanfair’s goals, Matthew Griffiths (2) and Georgy Szabo replying.

Ant Dunleavy (2), Conner Kendrick (2), Ryan Jones and Kyle Davies combined to earn Penycae a convincing 6-0 victory against Caerwys, while Ben Wynne and Josh Griffiths were Mochdre Sports’ marksmen in a 2-0 outcome at Penmaenmawr Phoenix.

Andrew Papirnyk’s late spot-kick clinched Barmouth and Dyffryn United a 1-0 outcome at Abermule, Andrew Jones, Nathan Moore and Craig Owen struck for Aberffraw in a 3-1 elimination of Llandudno Junction, Jack Williams responding, and Llandyrnog United knocked out Lex XI 4-2, Ross Gilbert, Matthew Pendleton (2) and Josh Jones the home hitmen, John Collins with two for the visitors.

Carl Jones (2), Dylan Sion Jones, Tomos Jones, Guto Roberts and Daniel Roberts were Nefyn United’s scorers in a 6-4 victory against Llandudno Amateurs, Aidan Bell (2), Scott Court and Mike Lauchlan replying.

Blaenau Amateurs edged a 5-4 stormer at Bro Goronwy after extra time.

Player-manager Ceri Roberts (2), Iwan Jones, Sion Roberts and Alun Hughes saw the Welsh Alliance Division One side through, but it was a great effort from Gwynedd League Bro, Jac Thomas (3) and Ross Mark running them so close.

New Brighton Villa upset the odds with a 7-2 away pummeling of Brickfield Rangers, Sam Wainwright (2 pens), Steven Orsler, James Beck, Leigh Griffiths, Sam Moffatt and Liam Davies sharing the underdogs’ goal riches.

Harvey Williams’ injury-time decider clinched Cefn Mawr Rangers a 5-4 result against North East Wales League battlers Sychdyn.

Williams (2), Ryan Harden (2) and Benjamin Duffy were the Cefn net-finders, the visitors having recovered from 4-1 down to pull level at four-apiece.

Olly Lewis (2) and Kev Breeze’s late penalty ensured Coedpoeth United of WNL Division One dumped out Premier high flyers Rhostyllen 3-2, Callum Thurnham also brilliantly saving a penalty for the winners.

Callum Parry’s hat-trick, including two spot-kicks, saw Llanrwst United squeeze through 3-2 at Gaerwen, Iwan Williams and Shaun Monument for the hosts.

In another upset, WNL Division One Mynydd Isa Spartans caned Premier side Llanuwchllyn 5-1, Kal Pierce (3), Jordan Walker and Kieran Jones guiding the home side into the next stage.

Keating Hoe-Pike (3), Ben Jarvis (2), Jamie Jones (pen), Matty Sykes and Darren Landers ensured Glan Conwy walloped Pentraeth 8-2, it finished 7-2 to Llannefydd against Gwalchmai, Tomos Jones (3), Elgan Roberts (2 pens), Nico Clwyd and Lewis Jones splitting the home haul, Mark Jones and Corey Sinnott with consolations for the islanders.

Rhydymwyn overcame Hawarden Rangers 3-2, Matty Hill, Chad Shelbourne and Adam Davies turning a 2-0 deficit into a barnstorming victory.

Menai Bridge Tigers were unable to fulfill their tie at Mynydd Llandegai, who progress automatically to the second qualifying round on a walkover.

Welsh Cup first qualifying round results

Amlwch Town 3 Holyhead Town 5, Aberffraw 3 Llandudno Junction 1, Abermule 0 Barmouth and Dyffryn United 1, Bangor 1876 4 Llandudno Athletic 1, Brickfield Rangers 2 New Brighton Villa 7, Bro Goronwy 4 Blaenau Amateurs 5, Castell Alun Colts 4 Llangollen Town 0, Cefn Mawr Rangers 5 Sychdyn 4, Coedpoeth United 3 Rhostyllen 2, Gaerwen 2 Llanrwst United 3, Glan Conwy 8 Pentraeth 2, Llannefydd 7 Gwalchmai 2, Llandyrnog United 4 Lex XI 2, Llanfairfechan Town 5 Kinmel Bay 3, Mynydd Isa 5 Llanuwchllyn 1, Mynydd Llandegai P Menai Bridge Tigers P, Nefyn United 6 Llandudno Amateurs 4, Penycae 6 Caerwys 0, Penmaenmawr Phoenix 0 Mochdre Sports 2, Rhosllanerchrugog 2 Plas Madoc 12, Rhydymwyn 3 Hawarden Rangers 2.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: