Welsh Alliance League – celebrating past champions: CPD Bodedern (2004/05)

Brilliant team: 2004-05 Welsh Alliance champions Bodedern. Picture: Col Smith

The Welsh Alliance League is in its 36th (and last) season.
Changes in the structure of Welsh football means that from 2020-21 the third-tier Welsh Alliance as we know it will be no more.
Last week, Grassroots North Wales looked back over the past 35 years and turned the spotlight on 12 championship-winning teams which could lay claim to being the best in the league’s history.
But there were many other fine sides we did not feature.
One of them was CPD Bodedern, the 2004-05 champions. Here is their story….

There was to be no runaway winner of the Welsh Alliance in 2004-05.

At the end of the campaign, just six points separated first place from fifth.

After an epic title battle, it was Anglesey villagers CPD Bodedern who finished top, just a point ahead of runners-up Rhydymwyn.

Having been crowned Gwynedd League champions in 2001-02, Boded had finished second and fourth respectively in their first two seasons in the Welsh Alliance, so they entered 2004-05 expected to do quite well.

An excellent squad, including: Craig Tipton, Gafyn Jones, Barry Jones, Gareth O J Roberts (goalkeeper), Gaz Wyn Roberts, Darren Hughes, Adam Roberts, Trystan Owen, Corey Sinnott, Paul Bryant, Craig Brodie, Tomos Jones, Gary Bolton, Marc Jones and Andy Roberts were among the fine players led by manager Kev Hughes and assistant Bryn Hughes.

The title was secured when Corey Sinnott’s late free kick against Prestatyn Town earned Boded the point they needed to clinch top spot.

Now 37, Corey is still banging in the goals in the Welsh Alliance for Gwalchmai, for whom he grabbed a double in Wednesday night’s 3-2 win at Mochdre Sports.

Corey Sinnott celebrates scoring for Gwalchmai in a past NWCFA Intermediate Cup Final. Pic: Dai Sinclair

Back in 2004/05, the then 22-year-old was enjoying being part of one of Boded’s finest-ever squads.

“Boded was one of the best clubs I have played for,” said Corey. “It had the whole package; brilliant management in Kev Hughes, Bryn Bach and Rob Hughes, brilliant players who would do everything for each other on and off the pitch and a brilliant village support who would always get behind the team win, lose or draw on the pitch.

“I think we were strong from one to 16 with a brilliant balance of hard-tackling, hard-working and skilful players.

Paul Bryant, Gafyn Jones, Tomos Jones and Daz Hughes loved to put their foot in. Craig Brodie, Barry Pipes and Adam Roberts were the workers and you had plenty of skill and pace up front with myself, Gary Bolton, Marc Jones, Andy Roberts and Gaz Wyn to name a few.

“My personal favourite game for the club was scoring a hat-trick against my former club Llangefni, who I’d just left, to knock them out of the cup. We won 3-2 but probably as a club the best was winning the Welsh Alliance on the last day with a 1-1 draw against Prestatyn at home to take us up to the Cymru Alliance.

“All in all a brilliant club and I miss our away days – always mental in a good way (laughs).”

Bodedern skipper Adam Roberts lifts the Welsh Alliance trophy. Pic: Col Smith

Midfield ace Craig Brodie was asked to choose his top team-mates from that season.

He said: “It’s hard to say as they were all different types of players who all played their part. I can’t pick one, but for me it was Corey, Gaz Wyn and Gafyn Jones, the hard man of the team. Gareth O J in goal was class, on a par with Paul Pritchard.

Craig Brodie has gone on to win several cups as a manager

“That was also the year we beat Hotspur at their ground. I got the winner from outside the box. I always remember because I was with Hotspur the year before and wanted to beat them.”

  • The Welsh Alliance was the successor to the Welsh League North, which ran between 1935-36 and 1983-84.


1984-85 Conwy United
1985-86 Conwy United
1986-87 Bethesda Athletic
1987-88 Llanfairpwll
1988-89 Flint Town United
1989-90 Porthmadog
1990-91 Llangefni Town
1991-92 Llangefni Town
1992-93 Cemaes Bay
1993-94 Llangefni Town
1994-95 Rhydymwyn
1995-96 Denbigh Town
1996-97 Glantraeth
1997-98 Holyhead Hotspur
1998-99 Llangefni Town
1999-00 Halkyn United
2000-01 Llanfairpwll
2001-02 Amlwch Town
2002-03 Glantraeth
2003-04 Rhyl Reserves
2004-05 Bodedern
2005-06 Prestatyn Town
2006-07 Denbigh Town
2007-08 Bethesda Athletic
2008-09 Bethesda Athletic
2009-10 Rhydymwyn
2010-11 Division One: Conwy United; Division Two: Caernarfon Wanderers
2011-12 Division One: Holyhead Hotspur; Division Two: Glantraeth
2012-13 Division One: Caernarfon Town; Division Two: Llandyrnog United
2013-14 Division One: Denbigh Town; Division Two: Penrhyndeudraeth
2014-15 Division One: Holywell Town; Division Two: St Asaph City
2015-16 Division One: Trearddur Bay United; Division Two: Greenfield
2016-17 Division One: Glantraeth; Division Two: Llandudno Albion
2017-18 Division One: Conwy Borough; Division Two: Prestatyn Sports
2018-19 Division One: Llangefni Town; Division Two: Glan Conwy

Title wins (list includes top division only from 2010-11)

5 – Llangefni Town
3 – Bethesda Athletic, Conwy United, Denbigh Town, Glantraeth,
2 – Llanfairpwll, Rhydymwyn, Holyhead Hotspur
1 – Flint Town United, Porthmadog, Cemaes Bay, Halkyn United, Amlwch Town, Rhyl Reserves, Prestatyn Town, Bodedern, Caernarfon Town, Holywell Town, Trearddur Bay United, Conwy Borough.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: