FAW Trophy: Wins for Bangor 1876, Chirk Town, Acton, Waunfawr and Nefyn

Dylan Summers-Jones celebrates a goal for Bangor 1876 at Treborth. Pic: TL Sports Photography

Dylan Summers-Jones plundered a hat-trick as Bangor 1876 advanced to the next round of the FAW Trophy with a 5-1 home win over Sychdyn.

The North East Wales League visitors held their Gwynedd League hosts at bay until three minutes before half time when Jamie Petrie converted a penalty he won himself.

The home side pulled clear in the second half, Summers-Jones netting twice and Petrie putting away another spot-kick before substitute Tim Hughes replied for Sychdyn.

Summers-Jones made it 5-1 before the end to make it a personal treble.

Newly-formed Chirk Town won their opening league game 15-0, but it was a lot closer for them in the Trophy as they edged a 4-3 thriller at Bro Goronwy.

Tom Freeman (2) Dean Riley and Josh Langford put the North East Wales League travellers 4-1 to the good, Rui Silva having given Gwynedd League Bro an early lead, before a late Jac Thomas pair ensured a tight finish at Cae Nerys.

And it was another close one at Lon-yr-Ysgol, where Gwynedd League Nefyn United took the spoils 3-2 against NEWL hosts Caerwys.

Caerwys and Nefyn United in action. Picture: Chris Doyle

Dylan Sion Jones, Guto Roberts and Carl Jones turned things round for the Penwaig, who had trailed 2-0 to goals by Jon Edmonds and Theo Woolford-Dyer.

Acton of the North East Wales League were good value for a 4-1 success at Llangoed, Mike Pugh (2), Luke Harrington and man of the match Nick Dunne with a 25-yard cracker seeing the visitors through, Llion Roberts the home scorer.

Shaun Roberts and Adam Jones were on target for Waunfawr in a narrow 2-1 verdict at Pentraeth, Gwyndaf Hughes opening the scoring with a free-kick.

So in four contests between the two leagues in this Trophy first round, it ended Gwynedd League 2 North East Wales League 2!

FAW Trophy round one – results

Bangor 1876 5 (Dylan Summers-Jones 3, Jamie Petrie 2 pens) Sychdyn 1 (Tim Hughes)
Bro Goronwy 3 (Rui Silva, Jac Thomas 2) Chirk Town 4 (Tom Freeman 2, Dean Riley, Josh Langford)
Caerwys 2 (Jon Edmonds, Theo Woolford-Dyer) Nefyn United 3 (Dylan Sion Jones, Guto Roberts, Carl Jones)
Llangoed 1 Acton 4 (Mike Pugh 2, Luke Harrington, Nick Dunne)
Pentraeth 1 (Gwyndaf Hughes) Waunfawr 2 (Shaun Roberts, Adam Jones)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: