All NEWFA Challenge Cup news including a hat-trick for Mold’s Danny Warren in spot-kicks win over Rhostyllen

Danny Warren. Picture: Mold Alex FC

Mold Alex 3 Rhostyllen 3
NEWFA Challenge Cup preliminary round
(aet – Mold won 4-2 on pens)

Danny Warren bagged a hat-trick for a Mold side which advanced to the first round of the NEWFA Challenge Cup with a hard-fought win over Rhostyllen on spot-kicks.

Warren, who has notched more than 50 goals for the club over the past two seasons, struck twice in the first half to put the Alex two-up at Alyn Park, but the visitors hit back to be level by half time.

It finished 3-3 at the end of 90 minutes, Warren completing his treble, and following extra time, it was four-apiece, Mike Woodward also netting for the hosts.

Rhostyllen’s scorers were Andrew Bithell, Drew Wickens (2) and Tom Douglas.

Penalties were needed to decide the outcome and Mold prevailed 4-2.


Bala Town v Caerwys (8pm)
Cefn Mawr Rangers v Brickfield Rangers
Coedpoeth United v Airbus
Halkyn & Flint Mountain v Plas Madoc
Holywell Town v Bradley Park (7.30pm)
Lex XI v Brymbo

Mold Alex v New Brighton Villa
Mynydd Isa Spartans v Chirk AAA
Rhosllanerchrugog v Castell Alun


1969-70 Brymbo SW
1970-71 Brymbo SW
1971-72 Bala Town
1972-73 Gresford Athletic
1973-74 Llangollen
1974-75 Buckley Rovers
1975-76 Rhosddu
1976-77 Llay Welfare
1977-78 Cefn Albion
1978-79 Sunblest United
1979-80 Buckley Town
1980-81 Buckley Town
1981-82 Brymbo SW
1982-83 Brymbo SW
1983-84 Llay R.B.L.
1984-85 Brymbo SW
1985-86 Mold Alex
1986-87 Mold Alex
1987-88 Mold Alex
1988-89 Lex Xl
1989-90 Llay RBL
1990-91 Lex Xl
1991-92 Gresford Athletic
1992-93 Cefn Druids
1993-94 Wrexham AFC
1994-95 Wrexham AFC
1995-96 Brymbo
1996-97 Rhostyllen Villa
1997-98 Wrexham AFC
1998-99 Flexsys Cefn Druids
1999-2000 Oswestry Town
2000-01 Buckley Town
2001-02 Buckley Town
2002-03 Buckley Town
2003-04 Bala Town
2004-05 Buckley Town
2005-06 Buckley Town
2006-07 Bala Town
2007-08 Bala Town
2008-09 Lex Xl
2009-10 Buckley Town
2010-11 Rhos Aelwyd
2011-12 Cefn Druids
2012-13 Buckley Town
2013-14 Cefn Druids
2014-15 Mold Alexandra
2015-16 Cefn Druids
2016-17 Gresford Athletic
2017-18 Ruthin Town
2018-19 Cefn Druids


9 – Buckley Town

6 – Brymbo, Cefn Druids

4 – Bala Town, Mold Alexandra

3 – Wrexham, Lex XI, Gresford Athletic

2 – Llay RBL

1 – Ruthin Town, Rhos Aelwyd, Llangollen, Llay Welfare, Buckley Rovers, Rhosddu, Cefn Albion, Sunblest United, Rhostyllen Villa, Oswestry Town.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: