North Wales Cricket League Divisions 1-4: Ton opening stand sets up Conwy win

Gareth Thomas (left) was in the wickets again for Halkyn in Division Two

Division One

An opening stand of 121 between Shaun Davies and skipper Rajjenu Britto set up leaders Conwy for a comfortable six-wicket success at home to Gwersyllt Park.

The visitors were put into bat and set 174 all out, Lewis Cole contributing 36 and Ryan Collier 33, Graham Boase an excellent 3-16 off 12 overs for the hosts, Britto 3-35 and Graham Meredith 3-48.

Shaun Davies (75), Daniel Davies (37 not out) and Britto (34) then led Conwy to 175-4 off 30.3 overs for a 13-2 verdict.

In a battle of second versus third, Dolgellau edged a thrilling two-run win against Llay Welfare 160-8 playing 158-8.

Greg Smithies (49) and Phil Leeds (43 no) were the main scorers for Dol, David Phennah 3-49 for the opposition, Chris Woodcock (43), Phennah (32) and Jack Parry (30) ensuring Llay went so close, Smithies 3-32 for the hosts.

Basement boys Bersham secured a narrow victory over Abergele – the team immediately above them.

Skipper Suresh Lakmal Koswaththage dominated with 103 not out in Bersham’s effort of 181 all out, David Moulson grabbing 5-35 off 12 overs for Gele.

The visitors were bowled out for 165. Karl Higgins striking 35 and Ben Garnett 30, Koswaththage snapping up 3-31 and Nilanka Da Silva 3-42 for the hosts.

Hawarden Park earned the better of the points 13-2 against Carmel and District. Park set 184 all out and bowled out the opposition for 119.

Jo Forde (78) and Adam Cross (62) totally dominated a Hawarden innings which featured five ducks, Derek Johnson 3-16 and Michael Rapson 3-20 for the visitors. Number 11 Nick Hughes struck 35 for Carmel, opener Dafydd Bailey carrying his bat for an ultra-patient 32.

Ian Martin produced stunning (and characteristic) figures of 12 overs, 3-11 for the hosts, David Hughes 2-22 from 12.

Alwyn Williams took a remarkable 7-16 as Llanrwst bowled out Mold for just 88 at Parc Gwydir after putting the visitors into bat.

The Rwsters got home on 91-7, Jack Hughes 33, John Crane 3-23 for the Flintshiremen. Points: 11-4.

It was also tight at Ruthin, where Bethesda were dismissed for 142, but then sent the hosts packing for 132 to seal a 10-run, 11-4 triumph.

Dewi Roberts (50) and Andrew Day (34 no) starred for Pesda, Gwyndaf Hughes 4-22 and Jamie Hulse 3-39 for the hosts.

Number seven William Jones was top-scorer for Ruthin with 35, Day and Ashley Rowlands both 3-21 for the visitors, John Maloney 3-28.

Division Two

Half-tons from Peter Jones and Jamie Davies proved the difference as table-toppers Bangor seconds celebrated victory by just one run at Gresford seconds.

Inserted by the opposition, the Citizens recorded a total of 180-7 off 45 overs, Jones top-scoring with 71 not out, skipper Davies adding 54.

Gresford so nearly reached their target, but ended on 179-7, Cam Evans 58 and Joe Benson 57, Bethan Hughes 3-48 for the successful visitors.

Second-placed Halkyn won by six wickets at Llay Welfare seconds, reaching 164-4 after bowling out the hosts for 160.

David Wright was chief run-getter for Llay with 69, Ben Roberts 4-41 and Gareth Thomas 3-32 for Halkyn, Roberts then making 53 and Alex North 32 in the away reply.

Marchwiel and Wrexham’s Josh Williams returned a remarkable analysis of 5-6 of 7.3 overs as the hosts sent nine-man Corwen packing for a paltry 54. The hosts replied with 58-0, Michael Forgrave 24 no and Gareth Evans 22 no for a 15-0 decision.

Joss Roberts hit an unbeaten ton as Brymbo seconds ruthlessly inflicted a 15-0 defeat on Menai Bridge seconds.

The Steelmen amassed 302-3, Roberts with 101 no, Tom Emmerson 58 no, Charlie Croasdale 58 and Gareth Parry 45.

Daniel Monk then snared 3-44 as Menai were limited to 178-7 in reply, Ian Granger 37, Gethin Roberts 33 and Ben Evans 32.

Northop seconds recorded a 15-0 success at Mochdre seconds.

Division Three

Steven Eltham was chief contributor with 49 as Buckley seconds were all out for 129 at home to Hawarden Park seconds.

Craig Wilson (3-11), Michael Almond (3-24) and Nicholas Woods (3-45) bowled well for the visitors, but in response Hawarden could only muster 97, Peter Hinton a determined 33 no.

Mathew Edge (4-29), Samuel Edwards (3-25) and Mike Wooton (2-14) were Buckley heroes with the ball in this 12-3 win.

Gwersyllt Park seconds overcame Carmel and District seconds 13-2, 182-6 playing 115-9.

Skipper Stephen Conner made 94 no and Ralfie Challinor 41 for GP, Matthew Scott scooping 3-27 for the winners.

Adam El-Lamie (58 no) and Simon Williams (33 no) guided Denbigh seconds to 135-5 off 45 overs at Pontblyddyn seconds, Daz Wilcock an impressive 2-17 from 10 for Pont.

The home side reached the winning post at 138-6, Gethin Thomas 35 no and Tom Dawson 34 for a 12-3 result.

Pwllheli seconds achieved a corking four-wicket win at Mold seconds.

Ewan Hill struck 74 in Mold’s effort of 161, Kalim Al Baloshi 4-40 for Pwll, who then reached 166-6, Rhys Griffiths 62 and Jayakanth Zupudi 41 no for the visitors, Josh Jones 3-27 for the losers.

Leaders St Asaph seconds remained on the winning trail, beating Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn by six wickets at Elwy Park Grove.

Mynydd set a useful 212-9, Stuart Applewhite 65 no and Cameron Roche 52, Michael Snewing a very good 4-28 from 10 for the hosts.

Skipper Ben Murphy hit 72, Paul Fleming 46 and opener Andy Mearns 33 as Asaph made it to 213-4 off 41.1 overs.

Division Four

Conwy seconds won the tussle of the top two at Caernarfon by a 14-1 points margin.

The Cofis posted 171-4, Ian Morgan 66 no and Grant Peisley 51, then Andrew Davies cracked 80 and Richard Williams 66 no as the visitors reached 172-2 off 35.4.

Bethesda seconds also enjoyed a 14-1 decision, scoring 108-1 in response to Marchwiel and Wrexham seconds‘ 107-9.

Imran Mohamed claimed a brilliant 3-7 off nine overs for Pesda, Nathan Goodright 3-12, Matthew Lewis 37 for the travellers.

Goodright was 58 no and Geraint Jones 30 no as the hosts took 31 overs to make 108.

Ruthin seconds eased to a nine-wicket victory at Halkyn seconds.

Nine-player Halkyn were all out for 80, Mike Evans 5-26 for the visitors, who replied with 81-1 in 16.4 overs, Murray Whitehead posting 43.

Llangollen defeated Dolgellau seconds by four wickets, 137-6 playing 136-6.

Skipper Richard Rees ended up 63 no for Dol, Kamran Hassan best with 32 for Llan.

Ashley Cook hit a maiden fifty and a career best 83 as Rhewl set a challenging 150-6 at home to Llandudno seconds, Oliver Hughes 3-26, but Tudno breezed to a winning 151-2 in only 20.3 overs in response, Tom Bleasdale with a match-clinching 80.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: