North Wales League Division One – top side Denbigh make it 10 straight victories

Jonathon Davies hit a superb 94 not out for Conwy at Hawarden Park. Picture: GARETH PRESTIDGE


Denbigh (13) 258-6 Halkyn (2) 199-10

With their two closest rivals losing, Denbigh stretched their lead at the Division One summit to 31 points with victory over second-place Halkyn.

Highlight of the day for the hosts was a second career ton for opener Sam Lewis, who made 100 exactly.

After choosing to bat, Denbigh first-wicket pair Lewis and Gerallt Lyall (78) prospered, putting on 175.

That laid the foundation for a fine score of 258-6 off 45 overs.

Halkyn were bowled out for 199, Andrew Watkin (49) and Jamie Griffiths (44) the chief contributors.

Darren Nixon took 3-39, Ifan Jones 2-22 and Harrison Jones 2-31 as the hosts pouched a 13-2 points verdict and made it 10 wins out of 10 in Division One this season.

Hawarden Park (4) 224-8 Conwy (11) 227-6

Conwy edged a high-scoring thriller at Moor Lane by just three runs.

Skipper Jonathon James Davies led the charge with an unbeaten 94 as the visitors struck 227-6 off 45 overs.

Calum Jones added 32, while for the hosts Tom Norris took 3-26 and Campbell Marr 2-46.

In response, Rhys Johnson’s 83 kept Hawarden in the hunt, but they finished just four short of a win on 224-8.

Opener Karl Higgins earlier made 31, while for Conwy, Tom Plank took 2-33, Graham Meredith 2-40 and batting hero Davies 2-43 – including the key scalp of Johnson.

Bangor 2nd XI (2) 167-9 Dolgellau (13) 168-5

Photographer ANDRE PEPPER captures a Bangor seconds wicket fall.

Jaco Oosthuizen produced the key innings of 53 not out to lead Dolgellau to a five-wicket triumph at Ty Newydd.

Bangor 2nds chose to bat and posted 167-9, Jamie Davies 59 not out and Chris Barry 51, Sam Williams and Sion Francis both 2-23 for the visitors.

Dol hit back with 168-5 from 37.2, Oosthuizen the top-scorer with Wales over-60 international Phil Leeds adding a vital 33.

Ryan Symonds-Mayes claimed 2-33 for the home side.

Connah’s Quay (1) 126-10 Gwersyllt Park (14) 224-6

Skipper Iroshan De Silva (94) and Ralfie Challinor (72) shared in a match-winning stand of 177 for the fourth wicket as Gwersyllt amassed a winning total at Quay.

After being 16-3, that pivotal partnership enabled the Park to set 224-6.

Lee Davies snapped up 4-55 and Callum Miller 2-33 for the hosts.

Connah’s Quay were then dismissed for just 126, Cai Pearson 4-18 and Ben Griffiths 4-28 for the visitors, Darren Jones best for the home team with 35.

Llanrwst (3) 176-10 Buckley (12) 207-10

Buckley were overjoyed to get a win at Llanrwst

Adam Shaw (4-20) and Jack Williams (3-28) produced the crucial bowling spells to ensure Llanrwst could not overhaul Buckley’s score at Gwydir Park.

Bucks were put in and Rocco Franco starred with 65 in a total of 207 all out.

William Norman (30) and Jack Whitley (27 no) also made important contributions, while for the hosts Scott Thomas pocketed 4-38 and Lee Thomas 3-54.

Llanrwst’s reply started well, openers Iwan Edwards and Huw Williams making 40 and 36 respectively, but although extras came to 43, no other batsman could make 20 and the home innings ended 176 all out.

Marchwiel and Wrexham (1) 121-10 Abergele (14) 214-9

A true combined team effort made sure Abergele came away from Marchwiel Hall with an emphatic win.

Gele’s batsmen concocted a fine score of 214-9 after they were put into bat, number nine Josh Lloyd top-scoring with 42, while David Moulson hit 30, but there were numerous other useful knocks.

Jason Wharam picked up 4-46 for the hosts, who were then dismissed for 121.

Nick Husbands made 40 for Marchwiel and Wrexham, but it was mainly about the away bowlers, Lewis Tolond scooping 3-32, Edward Rooney 2-12 and Milan Sebastian 2-25.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: