Welsh Cup: Denbigh dozen includes five from master hitman Mark Roberts

Five-goal hero Mark Roberts (No 10) diverts an off-target shot into the net with his head. Picture: ROY GUNTHER

Rhuddlan Town 2 (Potts, Sharples OG)
Denbigh Town 12 (Roberts 5, Walker 3, Barratt 2, Clarke, Davey)

Mark Roberts knocked in five goals as Denbigh delivered a dozen of the best against a shell-shocked Rhuddlan at Pengwern College.

Roberts, who hit eight in a Welsh Cup tie for Town against Blaenau Amateurs four years ago, this time had to be content with a nap-hand as the tier 3 visitors ran riot.

All this after Rhuddlan took a seventh-minute lead from a corner when the crossed ball fell to Ryan Potts, who beat keeper Joe Griffith’s valiant attempt to save his shot.

This goal gave Denbigh the impetus to step up their game and they piled the pressure on Rhuddlan.

Kristian Pierce floated a free kick into the Rhuddlan penalty box and the ball hit a defender on the arm. A penalty was awarded and up stepped Jake Walker to fire home.

By 18 minutes Denbigh were ahead after Roberts’ free kick took a deflection off a Rhuddlan defender which wrong-footed keeper Paul James.

Dan Clarke was the provider for Walker’s second goal on 34 minutes. Clarke sent in a low corner which reached Walker’s head and the striker nodded in to make it 3-1.

Two minutes later Walker had his hat-trick and once again it was Clarke’s brilliance providing the assist via a magnificent dribbling run.

Rhuddlan were given the chance to pull one back on 39 minutes when Stuart Jones was adjudged to have brought down Matty Rees just inside the penalty area.

Denbigh keeper Joe Griffith pulled off a stunning penalty save. Picture: ROY GUNTHER

Rees took the penalty, but Griffith pulled off a stunning save.

Billy Holmes hit the crossbar before just on the stroke of half time the impressive Clarke tenaciously won a tackle near the Rhuddlan box and sent in a low cross for Roberts to tap in from close range. So 5-1 at the break.

Ten minutes into the second half and Rhuddlan had their second, courtesy of Denbigh defender Mike Sharples attempting a safe header back to Griffith which lobbed the keeper and gave the hosts a bizarre own goal.

With Denbigh 5-2 up, manager Dewi Llion Jones brought on Lee Davey and Jacob Barratt for hat-trick man Walker and the hard-working Rhys Rowlands.

Moses Barrett replaced the solid Sion Jones at the back on 62 minutes and from the resulting return to play Denbigh went 6-2 ahead.

This time Davey drilled a fierce shot which was veering off target only for Roberts to divert the ball into the net with a fantastic instinctive header.

Two minutes later Roberts had his fourth when he nodded in from six yards after James could only parry Barratt’s shot.

Jake Walker heads in one of his three for Denbigh. Picture: ROY GUNTHER

Clarke was rewarded for his work with the eighth goal when he drilled in a low ball which sailed across a crowded penalty area and into the far corner of the net.

Roberts then turned provider by sending in a deft chip which found the head of Barratt to make it 9-2.

Number 10 followed after 74 minutes when Pierce took advantage of a quick free kick from outside the Rhuddlan penalty area and was able to lay a ball across the box for Roberts to net his fifth.

Denbigh were rampant now and the impressive midfielder Paul Fleming was able to feed Holmes down the left wing.

He reached the byline and laid the ball back to Barratt, who turned his man and coolly slotted in from 10 yards.

The scoring was completed in the 89th minute when Davey finished after combining well with Roberts.

Rhuddlan Town
Paul James, Matty Roberts, Marcus Scott, Keiran Evans, Matty Rees, Mathew Beach, Jordan Bellham, Ryan Potts, Ben Smith, Ethan Taylor, Connor Bucknall ; Subs – Liam Curzon, Josh Parry, Jordan Davies, Ian Davenport, Wayne Hughes.

Denbigh Town
Joe Griffith, Sion Jones, Stuart Jones, Mike Sharples, Billy Holmes, Dan Clarke, Paul Fleming, Rhys Rowlands, Kristian Pierce, Mark Roberts (c), Jacob Walker: Subs: Jacob Barratt, Will Ashley, Moses Barnett, Lee Davey, Sam Tate.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: