Welsh Cricket Cup wins for St Asaph, Llay Welfare and Northop Hall

James Hurlin collected five wickets in Northop Hall’s win over Brymbo


St Asaph 217-6 Llandudno 173-10
Welsh Cup – North Zone 2

Duncan Midgley hit a decisive 74 against his old club as St Asaph advanced to the second round of the Welsh Cup.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, Saints compiled 217-6 off their 40 overs, William Ryan (33), Jason Foulkes (24), David Lloyd (23 not out) and skipper Mathew Ryan (20) all adding useful scores.

Dan Jones picked up 3-37 and Dan Evans 2-29 for the visitors.

Llandudno were going really well at 123-1, but then a flood of wickets cost them dear as they finished up 173 all out.

Evans (45) and Sam Rimmington (31) led the scoring for the away side, Oliver Hughes and Charlie Russell with 24 apiece.

Foulkes notched 4-26 and Elliot Goddard 3-35 for the winners.

Brymbo 101-10 Northop Hall 246-6
Welsh Cup – North Zone 1

Jac Kennedy led the way with 84 as Hall thrashed Brymbo by 145 runs to set up a meeting with neighbours Northop in the next round.

Hall won the toss and chose to bat, piling up a formidable 246-6 with Kennedy’s premier knock well supported by Harrison Jones (50) and Jamie Hodgson (44).

Joseph Norman returned excellent figures of 3-22 off eight overs for the home team, whose other bowlers came in for plenty of hammer.

The Steelmen were then bowled out for 101, James Claybrook staying firm on 38 not out, James Hurlin taking 5-19 and Jones 2-28 for the clear winners.

Llanidloes 79-10 Llay Welfare 80-2
Welsh Cup – North Zone 1

Tom Crewe grabbed 4-20, David Phennah 3-6 and Nathan Humphreys 2-12 for a Llay side which roared to victory in Powys.

After dismissing Llanidloes for 79, the Wrexham area side hit back with 80-2 in just 13 overs, Joe Howell with a blistering 52 off 33 balls including eight fours and two sixes.

Welsh Cup second round draw
(ties to be played Sunday, June 27)

North Zone 1
Northop Hall v Northop
Pontblyddyn v Llay Welfare

North Zone 2
St Asaph v Mochdre or Colwyn Bay (playing June 20)
Denbigh v Menai Bridge

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: