Flashback – 20 years ago: Llangefni pinch a point off Port with last-gasp penalty

DINARD, FRANCE - Wednesday, June 22, 2016: Wales' assistant manager Osian Roberts during a press conference at their base in Dinard as they prepare for the Round of 16 match during the UEFA Euro 2016 Championship. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Wednesday, June 22, 2016: Wales’ assistant manager Osian Roberts during a press conference at their base in Dinard as they prepare for the Round of 16 match during the UEFA Euro 2016 Championship. Osian started in midfield for Llangefni against Porthmadog 20 years ago today. (Pic by David Rawcliffe/Propaganda)

Llangefni Town 1 (Wagstaffe pen 90 +)
Porthmadog 1 (A Jones 42)
Cymru Alliance League – May 9, 2001 (played at Valley)

A vital game for Llangefni in their late quest for promotion to the League of Wales ended all-square 20 years ago today.

It was a keenly contested match with the large Anglesey contingent in the Porthmadog line-up adding spice to the occasion.

Port were missing eight regular first-teamers with Gareth Caughter being added to the unavailable list.

It meant also coach and islander Osian Roberts starting his first game of the season in the Port midfield.

It was never going to be a classic and players were allowed little time on the ball as flying tackles went in.

Port started better with Cai Williams and Emyr Jones threatening but defences on both sides were generally on top and neither keeper was troubled in the early stages.

After 14 minutes Richard Hughes went close with a far post header from a Danny Hughes free-kick.

On the half-hour Llangefni threatened from a free-kick on the edge of the box following a foul by Neil Roberts.

Then after 40 minutes Port created the first real scoring opportunity of the game which fell to Emyr Jones, after Cai Williams’ excellent cross.

Jones was put clear in front of the goal with only keeper Gerard McGuigan to beat but shot tamely wide from five yards.

Just two minutes later Port did take the lead when Alan Jones, in fine form on the left side, moved into the centre and lobbed the ball over McGuigan and into the net.

They could have gone further ahead when, following another good Cai Williams cross, both Emyr Jones and Richard Hughes failed to make a good enough contact on the ball to beat the keeper.

Half-time: Llangefni Town 0 Porthmadog 1

The second half saw Llangefni in determined mood and all the early play was concentrated in the Port half.

Heavy and sometimes dangerous tackles flew in and within the space of two minutes Neil Roberts and Dafydd Evans for the visitors received yellow cards. Llangefni piled on the pressure and pumped high balls into the box and from one of these Grahame Austin headed wide when well placed.

Port, however, continued to threaten on the counter-attack with the pace and skill of Alan Jones and the strength of Emyr Jones keeping the home defence at full stretch. Emyr Jones shot wide following a fine through ball by Dafydd Evans.

For all their huffing and puffing Llangefni failed to create a clear chance during the 90 minutes. The Port defence was resolute under the high ball with the defensive headers of Warren Gibbs, Danny and Richard Hughes keeping the home team at bay.

Then when it seemed that Port had won the ‘Battle of the Valley’ controversy raised its ugly head.

With the ball cleared into the Llangefni half following a corner, the linesman stood with his flag raised high.

After discussion the referee awarded Llangefni a hotly disputed penalty. In injury time up stepped Andrew Wagstaffe and, under intense pressure, coolly placed the ball past Tony Roberts into the net.

Cefni eventually finished runners-up, with Caernarfon Town taking the title.

Final question………..why on earth was this game played at Valley?

Llangefni: McGuigan, Arwyn Hughes, Jason Thomas, Andrew Wagstaffe, John Roberts, Corrigan, Gerallt Jones, Richard Evans, Emrys Jones, Rheon Rowlands, Grahame Austin. Subs: Corey Sinnott, Osian Roberts, Paul Bryant.

Port: Tony Roberts, Neil Roberts, Warren Gibbs, Danny Hughes, Richard Hughes, Cai Williams, Dafydd Evans, Osian Roberts, Martin Jones, Emyr Jones (Owain Tudur Jones), Alan Jones. Sub not used: Steve Smith.

Thanks to Porthmadog FC website writer Iwan Gareth for an excellent report

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: