Can anyone help fill in the N Wales Women’s Football League’s missing history?

Caernarfon Town: 2016-17 champions

Does anyone know who won the North Wales Women’s Football League titles before 2014-15 ?

There are no records available anywhere on the internet that I can find and those who do know will not release them to me.

Just wondered if anyone could fill in the gaps so I can have a complete record. I’m not even 100% sure when the league started.

Any help would be appreciated. E-mail

Meantime, here is the list of champions from 2014-15 onwards….

North Wales Women’s Football League – list of available winners

2014-15 Denbigh Town
2015-16 Northop Hall
2016-17 Caernarfon Town
2017-18 Northop Hall
2018-19: Division One – Bethel/Llanfair United (joint); Division Two – Bethesda.
2019-20: Division One – Llanfair United; Division Two – Amlwch Town

2014/15 – Denbigh Town

John Clayton’s Denbigh side clinched the title with a 3-1 win at Llanfair United.
Town’s final record was: played 18 won 16, drawn one and lost one.
Mari Edwards was top-scorer for the side with Netty Jones outstanding in goal.

2015-16 – gap Northop Hall

gap Northop Hall were the stand-out side of the season.

The Flintshire girls secured the title with a 12-0 victory over Point.

Annmarie Jones, Emily Hughes and Shannon Hobbs were among the leading goalscorers.

2016-17 – Caernarfon Town

Probably the finest team to win the North Wales title.

The Canaries scored 120 goals in 20 league matches and doubled up by lifting the Betty Pickering Cup with a 5-1 thrashing of Pwllheli.

Catrin Thomas led the goals charge with 38 in all competitions, skipper Ffion Owen notching 23 and Anna Jones 12.

2017-18 – Northop Hall

Laura Pennington knocked in a remarkable 48 goals as Hall claimed the double of league title and NEWFA Cup.

This was an awesome team managed by Steve Thomas, the likes of Kirstie Kural, Ashleigh Foster, Bethan Thomas and Rebecca Hughes also playing a big part.

2018-19 – Division One – Llanfair United/Bethel (joint champions); Division Two – Bethesda Athletic

Joint Division One champions Bethel

Bethel and Llanfair are recorded in history as joint Division One champions for 2018-19. That doesn’t tell half of the farcical story, though.

The season finished with Bethel on 36 points from 14 games and Llanfair 33 from 13 matches.

Llanfair were unable to complete their games as Kinmel Bay refused to play them in their final fixture before the May 31 deadline. Bay insisted they could not raise a team after playing what turned out to be their last game on May 1.

Division Two champions Bethesda

Over the season, Bethel scored 72 goals and conceded 18, so ended with a goal difference of +54, while Llanfair netted 63 and let in 12, GD +51.

It all ended in a mess and has been so ever since.

2019-20: Division One – Llanfair; Division Two – Amlwch Town

Division One champions Llanfair

The season was cut short by the coronavirus pandemic.

Although they had only completed five matches – winning them all – Llanfair were crowned Division One champions as they had the most points.

Amlwch lifted the Division Two title with 25 points from nine games.

Division Two champions Amlwch

Erin Maloney of Bethel was top-scorer in all competitions with 21 goals, with Lexi Crawley of Amlwch Town second on 20.

Gemma Jones of Llanfair finished Division One leading scorer on 11 goals and Amlwch’s Ffion Owen headed the Division Two chart with 19 league strikes.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: