Two North East Wales Football League teams fold, another drops a division

Two teams have resigned from the new North East Wales Football League before a ball is kicked.

Both Mold Town United and Llanfarthin have folded ahead of the 2020-21 season.

This initially reduced the tier 5 North East Wales League Championship to 10 teams, but the demotion of Johnstown YFC has increased the membership back up to 11.

Johnstown drop down from the tier 4 Premier at their own request, cutting that division to 15 teams.

Mold Town United had been in the old North East Wales League since it succeeded the Clwyd East League in 2013-14.

The Mold side finished third in 2015-16 and 2018-19, but ended up next-to-bottom last season.

Descended from St Martins Village Football Club, which formerly competed in the Shropshire League, Llanfarthin have pulled out of their Welsh adventure without playing a game.

Revised North East Wales League

Tier 4

North East Wales League Premier Division (15 teams)

Acton FC
Brymbo Victoria
Castell Alun
Cefn Mawr Rangers
Chirk Town
Coedpoeth United
FC Queen’s Park
Halkyn & Flint Mountain
Hawarden Rangers
Lex XI
Llangollen Town
Mynydd Isa Spartans
New Brighton Villa
Overton Recreational.

Tier 5

North East Wales League Championship (11 teams)

AFC Bagillt
CPD Bellevue
Borras Park Albion
CPD Caerwys
Connah’s Quay Town
Deeside FC
Johnstown Youth
Penyffordd Lions
Railway Rovers
Ruabon Rovers
CPD Sychdyn.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: