Coast league plan collapses – new North Wales Women’s League set for 19 members

Caernarfon Town (yellow) seen here in action against Llandudno two seasons ago are expected to join the new North Wales Women’s League this weekend

Three more clubs are expected to join the new North Wales Women’s Football League by the weekend.

Bangor 1876 have officially registered on Comet, Llanystumdwy are due to finalise their membership soon and Caernarfon Town have verbally pledged to join.

That will increase the size of the NWWFL, run by the North East Wales FA, to 19 teams, which effectively ends the possibility of introducing a North Wales Coast Women’s League this season.

At one stage, the NWWFL had 12 teams confirmed, while the NWCFA initially listed eight.

However, over the past fortnight, Denbigh Town, Pwllheli and CPD Y Rhyl 1879 have all switched to the NWWFL.

That left just five in the Coast competition, but this week Mountain Rangers disbanded and now Bangor 1876 have changed allegiance to the NWWFL, with Llanystumdwy and Caernarfon Town also expected to do so.

This leaves just one of the original eight NWCFA clubs left – Kinmel Bay. The NWWFL reported tonight no word has been heard from them.

So, the 19 teams now expected to make up the North Wales Women’s Football League for 2020-21 are:

Amlwch Town
Bangor 1876
Caernarfon Town
Connah’s Quay Nomads
CPD Y Rhyl 1879
Denbigh Town
Holywell Town
Llanfair United
Northop Hall
Penrhyn Bay
Welshpool Town
Wrexham AFC

Unknown: Kinmel Bay.

The new league is expected to split into two divisions, probably based on geography.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: