Bangor 1876, Pen Phoenix, Rhos Aelwyd and Saltney Town all win FAW appeals

Bangor 1876 (blue) in action last season

Win! Win! Win! Win!

Four North Wales football clubs’ appeals against refusals for a Tier 3 licence have been successful.

Bangor 1876, Penmaenmawr Phoenix, Saltney Town and Rhos Aelwyd were among seven clubs nationally to secure the essential certificate at the second attempt when the FAW Tier 3 Independent Appeal Panel met today.

While Tier 3 approval does not guarantee a club will play at that level in the season ahead – there are now 84 clubs vying for 64 slots – it certainly puts them in a good position.

On Friday, the FAW is due to announce the make-up of the new Tier 3 and 4 leagues for 2020-21.

1876 failed in the first instance on availability of toilet facilities, but this issue was solved in time to ensure an appeal victory.

An 1876 statement said: “The Tier 3 Independent Appeal Panel met today to consider the club’s appeal against the refusal to grant Treborth accreditation as a ground which complies with the Tier 3 criteria.

“We are glad to announce that the panel upheld our appeal and that Treborth now meets the criteria against which grounds are assessed for their suitability to host Tier 3 league fixtures.

“Whilst this decision potentially paves the way for the Club to progress to Tier 3, it must be remembered that there are now 84 clubs who have achieved Tier 3 certification but only 64 places available in the Tier 3 leagues in the new league structure.

“The club has submitted a separate application seeking promotion to Tier 3 next season. We understand that this, together with the structure of the new Tier 3 and Tier 4 leagues, will be decided by the FAW National Leagues Board when they meet on Friday.

“We would like to thank the University for their assistance with overcoming the initial problem and our sponsor, Hefin Thomas, for supplying the necessary toilet units at short notice.”

Today’s Tier 3 appeal results……


Penmaenmawr Phoenix (Welsh Alliance League Division Two)
Rhos Aelwyd (Welsh National Premier Division)
Saltney Town (Welsh National Premier Division)
Ynyshir Albions (Welsh League Division Two)
Panteg (Welsh League Division Two)
Abertillery Bluebirds (Welsh League Division Two)
Bangor 1876 (Gwynedd League)


Pencoed Athletic (South Wales Alliance Premier Division)

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: