Skip to toolbar

Welsh football pyramid – what happens next season? A recap….

2020-21 will see major changes in the make-up of North Wales football

The results of today’s Tier 3 licence applications has again led to many questions over how the North Wales football pyramid will work next season.

Grassroots North Wales has written a number of articles relating to how tiers 1-5 will look in 2020-21, but we are happy to run through it again.

Tier 1 and 2

The top-tier Cymru Premier will remain at 12 clubs this season, while the second-tier Cymru North reduces from 17 teams to 16.
Cymru Premier teams: Aberystwyth Town, Bala Town, Barry Town United, Caernarfon Town, Cardiff Metropolitan, Cefn Druids, Connah’s Quay Nomads, Flint Town United, Haverfordwest County, Newtown, Penybont, The New Saints.
Cymru North teams: Airbus UK, Bangor City, Buckley Town, Colwyn Bay, Conwy Borough, Gresford Athletic, Guilsfield, Holyhead Hotspur, Holywell Town, Llandudno, Llangefni Town, Llanidloes Town, Llanrhaeadr, Penrhyncoch, Prestatyn Town, Ruthin Town.

Tier 3

Used to be run by area associations, but will come under the auspices of the FAW in 2020-21.

The Welsh Alliance and Welsh National League (Wrexham Area) are now dissolved.

The FAW National Leagues Board will meet on July 10 to finalise the make-up/membership of the new Tier 3 Leagues, prior to the new name and brand being released.

Of 102 applicant clubs across Wales, 77 were awarded Tier 3 Certification in the first instance.

Unsuccessful clubs can appeal and the independent appeals panel will meet remotely on July 8.

Following the conclusion of this process, the Tier 3 set-up will be decided two days later.

Clubs formerly in the Welsh National League to have gained Tier 3 certification are:

Premier Division: Brickfield Rangers, Brymbo, Cefn Albion (at The Rock, Cefn), Chirk AAA, Holywell Town, Llay Welfare, Llanuwchllyn (at Maes Tegid, Bala), Mold Alexandra, Penycae, Rhostyllen, Rhydymwyn. Division One: Hawarden Rangers.

Refused – Premier: FC Queen’s Park, Rhos Aelwyd, Saltney Town. Division One: Lex XI.

Clubs formerly in the Welsh Alliance League to have gained Tier 3 certification are

Division One: Blaenau Amateurs, Denbigh Town, Holyhead Hotspur, Nantlle Vale, Llandudno Albion (at Maesdu Park, Llandudno), Llanrwst United, St Asaph City. Division Two: Aberffraw, Barmouth and Dyffryn, Pwllheli, Y Felinheli.

Refused – Division One: Bodedern Athletic, Greenfield, Mynydd Llandegai. Division Two: Penmaenmawr Phoenix.

Clubs relegated from Tier 2 to Tier 3 which also meet the Tier 3 criteria: Corwen, Porthmadog.
Also meet Tier 3 criteria: Glantraeth (2019-20 – Gwynedd League)

Tiers 4 and 5

North Wales Coast

At the end of the 2019-20 season the following NWCFA affiliated leagues were dissolved: Gwynedd Football League, Vale of Clwyd & Conwy Football League and the Anglesey Football League.

Two new leagues shall be formed within the NWCFA area from the start of season 2020-21.

They will be: the North Wales Coast West Football League and the North Wales Coast East Football League.

Each new league structure shall have two divisions, with no more than 16 clubs in each division.

The North Wales Coast West Football League shall replace the Gwynedd Football League and Anglesey Football League.

The North Wales Coast East Football League shall replace the Vale of Clwyd & Conwy Football League.

North Wales Coast West Football League will comprise:
Premier Division – with no more than 16 clubs.
Division One – with no more than 16 clubs.

North Wales Coast East Football League will comprise:
Premier Division – with no more than 16 clubs.
Division One – with no more than 16 clubs.

The Premier Divisions will come under Tier 4 classification

The Division Ones will come under Tier 5 classification

Clubs who complete the season as Division One champions or runners-up, will be considered for promotion to the Premier providing they meet the ground criteria for the Premier Division by April 30 at the end of each season.

New clubs wishing to join the league must submit their application to the league’s general secretary by December 31 of each season, together with a £100 application fee.

North East Wales

The Welsh National League (Wrexham Area) and the OLD North East Wales League (2011-2020) are no more.

The NEWFA has formed a new competition, also called the North East Wales League, which will consist of a Premier Division, Championship and a reserve league.

This will replace what has been up to now tier 4 and 5 (the old Welsh National League Division One and the former North East Wales League respectively).

The new structure will have an automatic promotion and relegation from tier 5 (Championship) to 4 (Premier Division – top two and bottom two) rather than the application process which operated with the old North East Wales League and WNL Division One.

North East Wales football pyramid changes
Welsh National League (Wrexham Area) Premier Division – joins tier 3
Welsh National League Division One – becomes tier 4 (North East Wales League Premier Division)
North East Wales League – becomes tier 5 (North East Wales League Championship)
Welsh National League Reserves and Reserves and Colts Divisions – becomes a North East Wales Reserve League.

Reserve Leagues

Confirmation is still awaited on the set-up of other reserve team leagues across North Wales for the 2020-21 season.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: