Colwyn Bay FC insist they can overcome licence blow

Colwyn Bay Football Club is confident it can retain a licence to compete in level two of Welsh football despite a blow to its hopes today.

Bay were the only North Wales club – and one of just six across Wales out of 47 applicants – not to be granted a Tier 2 certificate for the 2020-21 season.

The FAW Tier 2 First Instance Body met remotely today to consider applications for the next campaign.

A total of 47 clubs were assessed against a number of infrastructure and personnel criteria.

FAW Tier 2 Certification is a mandatory requirement for clubs to participate at Tier 2 of the Welsh football pyramid for the 2020/21 season.

The Bay, who returned to Welsh football after a 35-year absence this season and gained straight entry into Tier 2 Cymru North, were turned down, but a club statement released tonight said: “Whilst the news of the Tier 2 First Instance Body’s decision from today’s meeting is disappointing, having read through the letter of notification the club has received, it’s clear that the clerical errors can be rectified upon appeal and we fully intend to do so.”

Prestatyn Town, who are considering further action after failing on appeal to gain a Tier 1 licence, were successful in their Tier 2 qualification bid.

From the Welsh Alliance League, Denbigh Town and Holyhead Hotspur both attained Tier 2 licences. The pair have competed in tier two before.

Following today’s meeting, the independent First Instance Body decided on the following:


JD Cymru North (15):
Bangor City
Buckley Town
Conwy Borough
Flint Town United
Gresford Athletic
Llanfair United
Llangefni Town
Prestatyn Town
Ruthin Town

JD Cymru South (13):
Afan Lido
Ammanford AFC
Briton Ferry Llansawel
Cambrian & Clydach Vale BGC
Cwmamman United
Cwmbran Celtic
Goytre United
Haverfordwest County
Llantwit Major
Pontypridd Town
Swansea University
Taffs Well
Undy Athletic

Welsh National League (Wrexham Area) (2):
Holywell Town
Mold Alexandra

Welsh Alliance League (2):
Holyhead Hotspur
Denbigh Town

Mid Wales League (2):

Welsh Football League Division One (7):
Caldicot Town
Pontardawe Town
Port Talbot Town
Risca United
Ton Pentre
Trefelin BGC

Of the remaining applications, the following clubs were not granted Tier 2 Certification for the 2020/21 season:

JD Cymru North (1):
Colwyn Bay

JD Cymru South (3):
Caerau Ely
Llanelli Town
STM Sports

Welsh League Division Division One (2):
Penydarren BGC

All clubs have the right of appeal, in accordance with FAW Rule 43.2.3.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: