In better times: CPD Llannerchymedd

Llannerchymedd’s Gwynedd League treble winners of 2013-14. Back row (left to right): Manager Gareth Parry, assistant Darren Williams, captain Gavin Sharpe, Iwan Williams, Dylan Owen, Daniel Thomas, Kenny Hughes, Shaun Jenkins, Dewi Thomas, Shaun Pritchard, chairman Elwyn Hughes. Front (l-r): Cai Grieves, Hari Jones, Andrew Roberts, Patrick Roberts, Matthew Jones, Ryan Jones, Deion Evans, Gary Ponsonby. Pic: JOHN ELFRYN OWEN

In the first of a new series where we focus on clubs currently struggling but with an encouraging past they are looking to replicate, we turn the spotlight on Anglesey’s LLANNERCHYMEDD FC

The 2019-20 season has had no real silver lining at all for Llannerchymedd FC.

Despite finishing sixth in Welsh Alliance Division Two last term, the club took the difficult decision in the summer to step down to the Gwynedd League after the vast majority of the squad joined other Anglesey teams.

New manager Darren Hughes was left with a group of mainly untried local youngsters who have found the going tough with Medd currently bottom of the Gwynedd having suffered 19 straight defeats.

It remains to be seen what can be done for next season, but all due respect to the club for completing their fixtures so far.

Llannerchymedd supporters do not have to look too far back for a reminder of how good times have been, especially the last decade when they lifted the Gwynedd League crown and a host of cups.

While there are records of a Llannerchymedd side competing in the Anglesey League in the 1910s and 1920s, the club did not get going in earnest until after World War Two.

However, success in terms of silverware was non-existent throughout the 1940s, 50s and 60s and it was not until 1978-79 that the club experienced a first trophy triumph when they lifted the Elias Cup.

The 1980s proved far more prolific as Medd emerged as one of the Anglesey League’s top teams.

They won the main league title back-to-back and the Division Two championship twice (one of those successes achieved by Llannerchymedd Reserves).

That decade also delivered the NWCFA Junior Cup in 1984/85, as well as three Megan Cup wins in a row.

The club became known as Llannerchymedd Bulls for a spell in the 1990s, landing the Megan Cup twice and Dargie Cup.

They began the 2000s as Llannerchymedd and rejoined the Anglesey League, scooping the Thomas and Williams Cup twice in the decade.

One of the club’s finest seasons was 2011-12. They finished runners-up in the Anglesey League behind Morawelon to secure promotion to the Gwynedd.

Medd also notched a cup treble, winning the Dargie, Megan and Elias all in that same campaign.

Managed by Gareth Parry, the Tan Parc club had one of the best sides in their history, including 45-goal Andrew Bailey, Karl Ashworth, keeper Alan Jukes, Gavin Sharpe, Matthew Jones and Darren Thomas.

Llannerchymedd players and officials celebrate their 2013/14 Gwynedd League title triumph.

Even better was to follow in 2013/14 when Llannerchymedd roared to the Gwynedd League title by a nine-point margin, losing just once in 20 matches.

And they made it a treble by adding the Bob Owen Memorial Shield and Safeflue Shield to the trophy cabinet.

Players such as Matthew Jones, Kenny Hughes, Daniel Thomas, Dewi Thomas and Sharpe were at the forefront of this success.

The 2014-15 season saw Llannerchymedd playing at the highest standard in their history as they began life in Welsh Alliance Division Two.

They did really well, too, finishing fifth and just five points behind eventual champions on goal difference St Asaph City.

Medd remained in Division Two for four more seasons, but after an impressive 2018-19 pulled out of the league last summer due to loss of key players.

And it has had to get worse before it can get better with this season’s Gwynedd League struggles, but if they could get into a position to strengthen again, the happy times can return for CPD Llannerchymedd.

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: