Bangor 1876 make it 11 straight wins – latest reports and stats

There was a great crowd at Menai Bridge for the visit of Bangor 1876 (blue). Picture: Dafydd Hughes

Menai Bridge Tigers 1 (Dale Owens 11)
Bangor 1876 5 (Cian Williams 17, Dylan Summers-Jones 40, Les Davies 47 & 64, Jamie Petrie 82)
Bob Owen Memorial Shield – January 25, 2020

Despite falling behind early on Bangor 1876 rallied to record their 11th straight victory and advance to the semi-finals of the Bob Owen Memorial Shield, reports Jonathan Ervine.

Saturday brought 1876’s first-ever meeting with near neighbours Menai Bridge Tigers and a cracking crowd assembled for the occasion at Maes y Coed.

The home side opened the scoring in the 11th minute when a cross from left-back Dale Owens swirled into the box and dropped in at the back post.

However, their lead lasted barely six minutes as Cian Williams scored with a half-volley after Matt Lock had headed down a floated free-kick into the box.

Five minutes before half-time, 1876 took the lead when a through ball from Matt Lock found Dylan Summers-Jones in space in the right-hand side of the penalty area.

The young attacker fired in a shot that a home defender was unable to prevent crossing the line, leaving Summers-Jones to celebrate his 39th goal of the campaign.

It could have been 3-1 at half time, but home goalkeeper Dion Lewis managed to pull off one of several outstanding saves as he turned a powerful shot by Les Davies from the right edge of the penalty area onto the crossbar.

However, Sgorio’s player of the decade did not have to wait long in the second period to get on the scoresheet. Two minutes into the half, Davies headed in from close range. Shortly afterwards, Jamie Petrie’s header rebounded off the post.

In the 64th minute, Davies scored his second of the afternoon, 19th of the season and Bangor 1876’s 150th goal in competitive matches this term.

He controlled a ball into the box from Shaun Lock by firing in a powerful shot that beat the home keeper.

Shaun Lock came close to scoring himself with a powerful shot from 25 yards that Lewis did well to parry away for a corner.

A fifth goal did arrive eight minutes from full-time when Petrie scored from six yards to make it 38 this season after Summers-Jones crossed from the right-hand side.

The crowd gets a good view as things get a bit physical at Maes-y-Coed. Picture: Dafydd Hughes

Team line-ups

Menai Bridge Tigers: Dion Lewis, Mitchell Jones (Brendun Hogan 74), Dale Owens, Alex Jones, Ryan Owen, Matthew Scowan (Darren Gowans 52), Kevin Roberts, Darren Jones, Callum Davidson, Jordan Pritchard (Dave Baston 74), Kelvin Frazer.

Bangor 1876: Leon Jones, Harry Jones (Jamie Thomas 90), Matthew Lock, Shaun Lock, Michael Johnston, Cian Williams, Jamie Petrie, Ben Owen (Ryan Pope 85), Les Davies (Sion Parry 83), Dafydd Thomas, Dylan Summers-Jones.

Bangor 1876 results and stats – 2019-20 season

Jan 25: Menai Bridge Tigers (a – Bob Owen Memorial Shield) 5-1 (C Williams, Summers-Jones, Davies 2, Petrie)
Jan 18: Bethesda Ath (a – GL) 10-2 (Petrie 4, 1 pen, Dafydd Thomas 2, C Barry, C Williams, Summers-Jones, M Lock)
Jan 11: Ogwen Tigers (h – GL) 7-0 (Parry 4, Summers-Jones 2, Lundstram)
Jan 6: Waunfawr (h – GL) 4-0 (Cian Williams, Davies, Summers-Jones, Sion Parry)
Jan 4: Glantraeth (a – GL) 4-0 (Johnston, Summers-Jones, Petrie, Ben Owen)
Dec 28: Bontnewydd (h – GL) 13-2 (M Lock, Summers-Jones 5, Davies 3, Petrie, Barry, Steele, Lundstram)
Dec 21: Llanystumdwy (h – GL) 6-0 (Lundstram, Johnston, S Lock, Petrie, Summers-Jones, 1 OG)
Dec 14: Caergybi (a – GL) 6-0 (Cian Williams, Petrie 2, Lundstram, Summers-Jones)
Dec 7: Trearddur Bay Bulls (a – GL) 2-1 (Summers-Jones 2)
Nov 30: Llanfairfechan Town (h – NWCFA Junior Cup R2) 4-1 (Dylan Williams, Summers-Jones 2, Petrie) aet
Nov 16: Llanystumdwy (Bob Owen Memorial Shield) 13-0 (Petrie 3, Summers-Jones 3, Davies 2, Dylan Williams, S Lock, Michael Johnston, Cian Williams, Luke Steele)
Nov 9: Ruthin Town (h – Welsh Cup R2) 0-2
Nov 2: Llanrwst United (a – FAW Trophy R3) 1-4 (Lundstram)
Oct 19: Penycae (a – WC R1) 3-3 (Petrie 2 pens, M Lock) aet – won 3-2 pens
Oct 15: Bethesda Ath (h – GL) 14-0 (Petrie 5, Summers-Jones 3, Davies 2, Dion Jones 2, C Williams, Barry)
Oct 12: Llanelwy Athletic (a – NWCFA Junior Cup) 3-1 (D Williams, Steele, Lundstram)
Oct 8: Llannerchymedd (h – GL) 12-0 (Summers-Jones 4, Petrie 3, Davies 2, Lloyd-Jones 2, Dafydd Thomas)
Sep 28: Penrhyndeudraeth (h – WC QR2) 6-2 (Davies 4, Summers-Jones 2)
Sep 21: Talysarn Celts (a – GL) 4-2 (Dylan Williams, Davies, Petrie 2, 1 pen)
Sep 14: Pwllheli (h – FAW Trophy) 3-1 (Lloyd-Jones 2, Barry)
Aug 31: Llandudno Athletic (h – WC) 4-1 (Petrie pen, Barry, C Williams, Summers-Jones)
Aug 26: Llangoed (a – GL) 5-0 (Petrie 3, 1 pen, Davies, Owens)
Aug 24: Nefyn United (h – GL) 3-1 (Petrie 2, 1 pen, Davies)
Aug 19: Caergybi (h – GL) 10-0 (Summers-Jones 3, Lloyd-Jones 2, Petrie 2, C Williams, Barry, Owens)
Aug 17: Sychdyn (h – FAW Trophy) 5-1 (Summers-Jones 3, Petrie 2 pens)
Aug 10: Ogwen Tigers (a – GL) 4-1 (Summers-Jones 2, Petrie, Lundstram)

Match record
League: P 15 W 15 D 0 L 0 GF 104 GA 9
Cup: P 11 W 9 D 0 L 2 GF 47 GA 17

Goalscorers (151)
39 – Dylan Summers-Jones
38 – Jamie Petrie
19 – Les Davies
8 – Cian Williams
7 – Benn Lundstram
6 – Jos Lloyd-Jones, Cameron Barry
5 – Sion Parry
4 – Dylan Williams
3 – Luke Steele, Michael Johnston, Dafydd Thomas, Matt Lock
2 – Dion Jones, Shaun Lock
1 – Leon Owens, Ben Owen, 1 own goal

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: