Flashback – 5 years ago: Caernarfon see off battling Holywell to reach semi

Danny Brookwell, whose birthday it is today, scored Caernarfon’s vital third goal in a 3-1 League Cup win over Holywell five years ago – also on March 9

Caernarfon Town 3 (T Jones, Gibbs, Brookwell)
Holywell Town 1 (Littler)
Huws Gray Cup quarter-final – March 9, 2016

Five years ago this evening Cymru Alliance leaders Caernarfon progressed to the League Cup semi-finals at the expense of a more than capable Holywell outfit.

The game started well for the Wellmen, the first real attack seeing Graeme Williams blast over the bar.

A few minutes later, Tony Roebuck slotted through Connor Littler, whose first touch took the ball away from him and keeper Paul Pritchard was able to gather.

Both sides threatened before the Canaries’ Jamie Breese then brought out a low save from Mike Platt.

With 23 minutes on the clock, the dangerous Paul Williams broke clear down the right and his cross-come-shot fell inches wide of Pritchard’s right hand post. Littler’s low strike did not miss by much, then Brady McGilloway had a shot saved. Littler went down in the penalty area but the referee waved play on.

Caernarfon’s Rob Jones was released before dragging his shot wide, before Platt gathered well at the feet of Kevin Lloyd.

As the half drew to a close, the home side took the lead. Toby Jones controlled the ball and fired home past Platt after the away defence failed to clear.

It was harsh on the Wellmen but there was still all to play for in the second half.

Half-time: Caernarfon 1 Holywell 0

The first real chance of the second half fell to Caernarfon as Lloyd had a shot saved by Platt before Holywell notched a deserved equaliser.

Littler picked up the ball on the edge of the area, and his initial shot was saved by Pritchard, but Littler put away the loose ball despite defender Gareth Edwards’ vain attempt at clearing the ball.

Roebuck was only inches wide before Littler’s strike was brilliantly saved by Pritchard.

The busy Pritchard foiled Littler once before, then McGilloway was only inches wide before heartache for the Wellmen as the home side took the lead.

Rob Jones was brought down and Jay Gibbs stood over the ball to take the free kick and hit it straight into the top corner.

Holywell were denied what looked like a spot-kick when Graeme Williams was seemingly felled in the box.

Caernarfon sealed it when Danny Brookwell found himself breaking clear and his shot nestled into the bottom corner.
Late on the hosts were reduced to 10 men as sub Zyaac Edwards received a red card for a challenge on Steve Thomas.

Cymru Alliance League Cup list of winners

1990–91 Lex XI; runners-up – Caersws
1991–92 Lex XI; runners-up Flint Town United
1992–93 Rhyl; runners-up Gresford Athletic
1993–94 Welshpool Town; runners-up Rhyl
1994–95 Wrexham Reserves; runners-up Llandrindod Wells
1995–96 Oswestry Town; runners-up Llandudno
1996–97 Penrhyncoch; runners-up Penycae
1997–98 Holywell Town; runners-up Oswestry Town
1998–99 Porthmadog; runners-up Rhydymwyn
1999–00 Welshpool Town; runners-up Oswestry Town
2000–01 Caernarfon Town; runners-up Welshpool Town
2001–02 Cemaes Bay; runners-up Ruthin Town
2002–03 Porthmadog; runners-up Buckley Town
2003–04 Buckley Town; runners-up Lex XI
2004–05 Bala Town; runners-up Penrhyncoch
2005–06 Glantraeth; runners-up Bala Town
2006–07 Bala Town; runners-up Holyhead Hotspur
2007–08 Bala Town; runners-up Gap Queen’s Park
2008–09 Bala Town; runners-up Holyhead Hotspur
2009–10 Llandudno; runners-up Flint Town United
2010–11 Guilsfield; runners-up Porthmadog
2011–12 Rhyl; runners-up Caersws
2012–13 Conwy Borough; runners-up Caersws
2013–14 Caernarfon Town; runners-up Flint Town United
2014–15 Caersws; runners-up Guilsfield
2015–16 Caernarfon Town; runners-up Flint Town United
2016–17 Caernarfon Town; runners-up Flint Town United
2017–18 Flint Town United; runners-up Gresford Athletic
2018-19 Airbus UK Broughton; runners-up Holyhead Hotspur

Numbers of wins

4 – Bala Town, Caernarfon Town
2 – Lex XI, Porthmadog, Rhyl, Welshpool Town
1 – Airbus, Caersws, Oswestry Town, Flint Town United, Buckley Town, Guilsfield, Llandudno, Penrhyncoch, Cemaes Bay, Conwy Borough, Glantraeth, Holywell Town, Wrexham Reserves

Copyright Dave Jones © All rights reserved. CoverNews by AF themes.
%d bloggers like this: